Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cascadilla Proceedings Project
Online proceedings of a variety of linguistics conferences including Proceedings of the Conference on Generative Approaches to Language Acquisition North America, GALANA, Proceedings of the Generative Approaches to Second Language Acquisition Conference, GASLA, and WCCFL: Proceedings of the West Coast Conference on Formal Linguistics.
SALT: Semantics and Linguistic Theory Conference Archives
The Proceedings of SALT contain articles developed from work presented at the annual Semantics and Linguistic Theory conference, North America's foremost conference devoted to natural language semantics with relevance to linguistic theory. Its audience is primarily linguists, but may also be of interest to and enjoy contributions from researchers in allied fields such as philosophy and computer science, writing on linguistic topics.
Electronic Proceedings of the Neural Information Processing Systems Conference.
GLOW Conference Abstracts
GLOW (Generative Linguistics in the Old World) is an international organization, founded in 1977 and based in Europe. Its goal is to further the study of Generative Grammar by organizing an annual conference and periodic summer schools, by publishing a newsletter and by any other means that facilitate communication among practitioners of Generative Grammar throughout the world.
Open Access Dissertations
A Grammar of Tiriyó
Meira, Sergio. (1999) "A grammar of Tiriyo." Doctoral Thesis, Rice University. http://hdl.handle.net/1911/19417. Print version.
Netherland Graduate School of Linguistics: LOT
LOT is the acronym of 'Landelijke Onderzoekschool Taalwetenschap', the Netherlands National Graduate School of Linguistics. The LOT publications catalog includes all dissertations as downloadable PDF files (Open Access). You can search for the author, book title, sections of the book, ISBN number and LOT series number. Some of these dissertations are also available in print in the MIT Libraries collection.
Online publications of the Center for the Study of Language and Information out of Stanford. Includes online collected works, conference proceedings, technical reports and journals.
LOT: Netherland Graduate School of Linguistics Publications
LOT is the acronym of 'Landelijke Onderzoekschool Taalwetenschap', the Netherlands National Graduate School of Linguistics. Publications since 2003 are available as downloadable PDF files. Includes many online grammars.
Native Languages of the Americas
A small non-profit organization dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. A compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them. It does have ads, but worth it for the valuable and extensive vocabularies.
For exchanging papers of interest to natural language semanticists and philosophers of language. Includes a number of proceedings in the area, as well as open source papers and other materials.
The Linguist List
The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis, and to providing the discipline of linguistics with the infrastructure necessary to function in the digital world. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Search the database for open access journals in linguistics. The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Speech Archives and Oral Histories
Some free internet sources of speeches/audio files
American Leaders Speak; Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election
The Nation's Forum Collection consists of fifty-nine sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.
American President: Presidential Speech Archive
The Scripps Library, through cooperation with various presidential libraries, has been collecting some of the most important presidential speeches in American history. These speeches all have transcripts, and some are available in their entirety in audio or video. For audio, scroll down.
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank
Links to many free online speeches. Distracting ads and interface, but many links. Topics listed on the left. Audio, video and text.
CHILDES Language Data Exchange System
CHILDES is the child language component of the TalkBank system. TalkBank is a system for sharing and studying conversational interactions. The goal of TalkBank is to foster fundamental research in the study of human and animal communication.
Famous Speeches on Youtube
Close to 70 speeches on video or audio by prominent US and world leaders.
George Mason University Speech Accent Archive
The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers. 1964 samples.
Greatest Speeches of the 20th Century
Variety of speeches from the Internet Archive. Includes minimal context, however.
History and Politics Out Loud
Audio history web site: "...famous speeches made by influential leaders of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. ... original audio tapes of how JFK dealt with the Cuban Missile Crisis. ... Dr. Martin Luther King's famous "I Have a Dream" speech." Requires some navigation to get to the audio files.
History Channel: Famous Speeches and Audio
A source for short clips from famous political and historical events and popular culture. Speeches are listed thematically and a separate search box allow more specific searching.
Landon Lecture Series Archive
Archived versions of previous Landon Lecture Series speakers. Includes audio, video and text.
Speeches of Winston Churchill
You must register (free). Speeches from 1934 -1936.
Stories from the Columbus Hilltop neighborhood
Stories that are collected and documented "'from [the Hilltop community] perspective' points of community pride: individual histories, stories of active citizens or creative individuals, placed-based stories, and important community events."