Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover books, articles or other information on your topic
In order by importance in the field of linguistics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Primary search engine in linguistics. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
JSTOR is an archival database of journals, books and other materials. Most of its journals are available from the first issue to three to five years ago via a moving wall.
BartonPlus is a single window to multiple databases. It includes full text articles and other e-resources, plus books, theses, CDs, DVDs, and more. It searches the MIT Libraries' catalog, but it does not search LLBA (see above).
Find books or articles that you already know about
Use the Get this at MIT button to get to full text from any database.
Search e-journals and databases at MIT
Classic search for books and more at MIT
Find and borrow non-MIT books. Worldcat is an online catalog of libraries from all over the world. Use the Request button to get books from other libraries delivered to MIT.
Another way to borrow books from other libraries, or to get articles to journals for which we have no subscription.
Download MIT dissertations and theses from DSpace@MIT. If it is not in DSpace, use Barton (see above).
Non-MIT Theses and Dissertations
Find theses written at other universities world-wide.
Visit Harvard and other Non-MIT Libraries
Your MIT ID offers you access to other libraries' collections locally and worldwide.
Encylopedias and dictionaries
If you are looking to understand something more deeply, here are a number of online options for definitions and explanations.
New Linguistics Books in the MIT Libraries
Linguist List: Book Reviews
Linguistic Data Consortium (available 2016-present)
To access corpora from 2016-present that are available for download:
- First, register with LDC using your MIT email address and your current department or lab
- Under "Organization" look for "Massachusetts Institute of Technology - MIT - Libraries" and select that option from the resulting drop-down menu. Do not use abbreviated form (e.g. "MIT") please type the whole string above to access the correct account.
- The libraries will approve your account within one business day. (If you don't receive an email, check your spam filter).
- After your account is approved, to access data, login to LDC and then go to the downloads tab under "your account options".
- The datasets that MIT Libraries has access to will be listed.
- If you need a corpus that is only available by hard drive or requires a separate license before download, please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
- If you need a pre-2016 corpus that we don’t have subscription access to, please fill out this form.
For all MIT users, available corpora are listed by year on the LDC site (MIT Libraries’ access to LDC corpora is limited to corpora published from 2016 on). Note that the corpora available as CDs or DVDs from 2016-present can be accessed by individual title through the Library’s Barton Catalog.