Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Traditional Reference Sources
Streaming video service with documentary and feature films from producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Filmakers [Filmmakers] Library Online
Streaming video collection of documentaries in many different subjects.
Search Scholarly Articles and Books
Search our Collections
Start with the MIT libraries' mega search. This contains the libraries full collection of books, full text articles, government. documents, and more. PRO TIP: For a more comprehensive search, click "expand beyond MIT collections" button at upper left of results to see many more articles which can be ordered via inter-library borrowing.
Free scholarly database. Link to MIT libraries for full text and Web of Science citations.
Mainstream News Databases
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Nexis Uni, formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Factiva has more than 30,000 sources from more than 200 countries in 28 languages. Allows 6 simultaneous users. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers in full-color, full-page format. For use online or as an app. Current three months only..
Alternative Press Index
Indexes 300 alternative, radical, and left publications covering political, economic, social and cultural issues. 1991 - present.
A full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. 1990 - present.
Social Science and Management Librarian
Check Your News
Ad Fontes Media Bias and Reliability Chart
Chart compiled using non-partisan methodology to analyze and rate news for overall reliability and bias.
See issues and political news with news bias revealed. Non-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows stories from from left, right, and center perspectives.
Monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Improve the News Foundation
Uses machine learning and crowd sourcing to present news from all sides.
International Fact-Checkers Network
International fact-checkers who adhere to the code of principles put forth by Poynters.
PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics.
The Weekly Standard Fact Check
Fact checking from the conservative publication.
Manage Your References
Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.