Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find scholarly articles on Shakespeare
All of the article databases listed below contain scholarly articles on Shakespeare. However, each requires its own search strategy. Each also covers a slightly different set of journals, so while you will find a lot of overlap by searching all of them, you will also find content that's unique to each one.
Full-text online journal collections
Because the databases listed below can search the entire text of the articles they contain, you can be very specific in your searches and type multipe keywords if you wish. However, keep in mind they do not contain every article ever written about Shakespeare.
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually only recent issues). Also includes some e-books.
Full-text, online access to scholarly journals in many fields, not just literature (although most recent years are usually excluded). Because it can search the entire text of the articles, you can be very specific in your searches and type multiple keywords if you wish. Also includes some e-books.
Scholarly articles - citations
The article databases listed below contain the most articles about Shakespeare, although since they do not contain the full-text, you will have to click on an "SFX" button to link to another source or look up the article citation in Vera. Likewise, they are searching descriptions of the articles, not the full-text of the articles, so err on the side of keeping your searches somewhat broader than you would in a full-text database.
Search Tips for World Shakespeare Bibliography:
- Click "Search"
- Type keywords into search box on the left, such as the name of the play and a topic (for example, othello and race)
- For a chronology, you can sort the results by year.
Search Tips for MLA:
- Click "Search"
- Type the name Shakespeare into the "Author as Subject" box
- Type the name of the play you're researching into the "Author's Work" box
- Type the theme or topic into the keyword box
MLA International Bibliography
One of the primary sources of scholarly research in field of literature (also includes some references in film, theatre, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (part of LION)
A database within LION (Literature Online), ABELL - The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature - contains over 500,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare from 1971 to the present.
Looking up a known citation
Search for the title of the journal in Vera, which contains links to our electronic journal holdings. Use the title of the journal, not the title of the article.
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.