Manage Your References
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Finding Information
Find journal articles
Search a bibliographic database:
- Compendex: general engineering and Inspec: electronics, computing, control, robotics, physics
- Video tutorial - 3:32
- PubMed: medicine and biology
- Web of Science: general science, medicine, some engineering. Good for tracking a citation
- Web of Science (video tutorial - 3:10)
- Tracking a citation using Web Of Science (video tutorial - 3:47)
- Scopus: science, engineering, some medicine, particularly published after 1995. Includes citation features, a competitor to Web of Science.
Find books
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton or search library catalogs world-wide using MIT's WorldCat.
- Machinery's Handbook (29th ed) (Barton record)
- Roark's Formulas for Stress & Strain (8th ed) (Barton record)
- Hurst's The Heart (13th ed) (Barton record)
Theses: Use Barton's Thesis Search to find MIT theses.
For theses from other universities, use: Dissertations and Theses (citations of theses back to 1861. Full text of most theses from 1997 - present.)
Handbooks, Encyclopedias and related Databases
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
- A full text collection of hundreds of handbooks and reference sources
- Machinery's Handbook (29th Edition)
- Design and Development of Medical Electronic Instrumentation: A Practice Perspective of the Design, Construction and Test of Medical Devices
- Medical Device Register: available in print in the Science Library reference collection
- Medical Materials Database: mechanical, physical and biological response properties of implantable cardiovascular and orthopedic medical devices
- StatRef Electronic Medical Library: including many classic medical texts
- AnatomyTV - Functional Anatomy: 3D anatomy with an extensive series of 3D muscle function animations
- ASM Materials Information: including the ASM Handbook, Alloy Center, and Failure Analysis Center.
Other resources
Subject Specialist |
![]() Contact Info Barker Engineering Library (10-500) Science Library (14S-100) Phone: 617-253-9320 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.



Loading...
