LibGuides: 2.75: Medical Device Design: Home

Related Web Pages

Medical Device News

Stat Plus
News resources for in-depth biotech, pharma, policy, and life science coverage and analysis.
more...less...
Requires MIT Touchstone authentication. New users must register for an account with their MIT email address.
Endpoints News
Endpoints News is an independent news organization, reporting and analyzing the top global biotech and pharmaceutical R&D news geared at professionals discovering, developing, and marketing biopharmaceutical drugs.
more...less...
How to Create Your ENTERPRISE Account:

1. Please sign-up at https://endpts.com/subscribe using your @mit.edu address. The system will automatically upgrade you to Enterprise users. You may now set a new password for your account from your reader profile.

2. If you are not logged in, set a new password by clicking on the 'Change my password' link on the sign-in page at https://endpts.com/reader-profile To log-in WITHOUT a password, please select 'Get my magic email link.' A Magic Link will be sent to your email address. Please check your Spam folder if it does not arrive.

If you need any assistance, please contact help@endpointsnews.com
FDA Newsroom
The latest news and events at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
EurekaAlert!
An online science news service featuring health, medicine, science and technology news from leading research institutions and universities.
Qmed and MD+DI Daily
Daily news and insights related to the medtech industry from Medical Device and Diagnostic Industry (MD+DI).
more...less...
To sign up for the newsletter, scroll to the bottom of the linked page and under 'Join Us' select 'Subscribe Today'. Select the MD+DI & Qmed Daily newsletter.

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Find articles

Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
PubMed
Medicine and biosciences.
Web of Science
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.

Handbooks and related materials

Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.

Knovel
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
Link to catalog record for online access.
Machinery's Handbook Guide
Link to catalog record for online access.
Comprehensive Physiology
Includes complete content from the Handbook of Physiology from the American Physiological Society; updated quarterly.

Medical devices and related information

FDA's Establishment & Device Listing
Online and current Medical Device Registry. Lists who makes what.
FDA's Medical Device website
FDA's Training and Continuing Education
Educational resources and training opportunities for healthcare professionals, industry, consumers, and academia from the FDA.
MAUDE - Manufacturer and User Facility Device Experience
Each year, the FDA receives several hundred thousand medical device reports (MDRs) of suspected device-associated deaths, serious injuries and malfunctions. The FDA uses MDRs to monitor device performance, detect potential device-related safety issues, and contribute to benefit-risk assessments of these products. The MAUDE database houses MDRs submitted to the FDA.
Medical Device Market Place
2017 print edition in Hayden Reference Collection. Lists who makes what.
Medical Device Register
Ceased in 2013. Print in Hayden Reference Collection. Lists who makes what. Current is online from FDA
Medical Materials Database
Mechanical, physical and biological response properties of implantable cardiovascular and orthopedic medical devices.
Visible Human Project
Digital image dataset of complete human male and female cadavers in MRI, CT and anatomical modes. (Note: this is a dataset that needs to be downloaded for free.) List of Projects based on the Visible Human Project Dataset

Find books & theses

Search Our Collections
MIT's library catalog - to see what is available at MIT
MIT's WorldCat
Database of library catalogs. Use Borrow Direct to request books from other libraries.
DSpace@MIT
DSpace@MIT is a digital repository for MIT's research, including peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, and more.
Dissertations & Theses
Search dissertations and theses from institutions across the world.

Engineering Librarian

Claire Berman

Contact:

cberman@mit.edu
Room 14S-210
617.258.7591

How can Claire help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

We want your feedback!

This guide is a living document and meant to help students in 2.75. If you are a current or past student with suggestions for resources to add or any other feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to Claire!