LibGuides: Finding Chemical & Materials Properties: Handbooks & Databases

Chemical & Materials Properties

General Resources:

By Material:

By Property:

By Substance:

Related Guides

Property information on a known or unknown substance

Begin your search for information on properties with the resources listed here.

See also resources listed by properties, materials and substance.

Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in a handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Comprehensive resource of physical constants and properties.
Tip: Look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side.

Print version is located in Science Library and Barker Library stacks at QD65.H235.
CHEMnetBASE
Tip: In the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side. If looking for a chemical, try the Combined Chemical Dictionary or Properties of Organic Compounds.
Knovel
Browsable and searchable engineering and science handbooks.
Tip: Look over the search tips section to build an effective search strategy. Or use the Data Search to look for specific properties.
Springer Materials
Known in print as Landolt-Börnstein. Includes 250,000 substances and 3,000 properties. Good for semi- and superconducting materials.
Landolt-Börnstein (print with online index)
Ask a Librarian for instruction on using this material.
Major content now included in SpringerMaterials.
more...less...
Online indexes:
Landolt-Bornstein Property Index for Organic Compounds
Landolt-Bornstein Property Index for Inorganic Substances
Reaxys
Find properties for organic, inorganic and organometallic substances. Known in print as Beilstein or Gmelin.

Wiley KnowItAll Spectroscopy Software & Libraries
Wiley KnowItAll Campus Solution provides access to KnowItAll Software&Libraries as well as the browser-based portal KnowItAll AnyWare. MIT affiliates can access specific spectral libraries and spectroscopy/spectrometry tools.

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian

Ye Li

Contact:

yel@mit.edu
Room 14S-202
617.253.9795

How can Ye help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Finding Chemical & Materials Properties: Handbooks & Databases

Table of Contents

Related Guides

Property information on a known or unknown substance

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian

More ways to get help