This is the "Handbooks & Databases" page of the "Finding Chemical & Materials Properties" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Chemical & Materials Properties  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/properties Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Handbooks & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Property information on a known or unknown substance

Begin your search for information on properties with the resources listed here. 

See also resources listed by properties, materials and substance.

Tip: Look for the substance (e.g. Gallium Arsenide) in a handbook or encylopedia. Often there is a section on properties. You may need to back up further (e.g. Gallium) to find what you need.

  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    Comprehensive resource of physical constants and properties.
    Tip: Look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side.

    Print version is located in Science Library and Barker Library stacks at QD65.H235.
  • CHEMnetBASE
    Tip: In the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, look for the Substance/Property Search link on the left side. If looking for a chemical, try the Combined Chemical Dictionary or Properties of Organic Compounds.
  • Knovel
    Browsable and searchable engineering and science handbooks.
    Tip: Look over the search tips section to build an effective search strategy. Or use the Data Search to look for specific properties.
  • Springer Materials
    Known in print as Landolt-Börnstein. Includes 250,000 substances and 3,000 properties. Good for semi- and superconducting materials.
  • Landolt-Börnstein [book in Barton] (print with online index)
    Ask a Librarian for instruction on using this material, found in the Hayden Library Science Reference Collection: QC61.L258.

    Online indexes:
    Landolt-Bornstein Property Index for Organic Compounds
    Landolt-Bornstein Property Index for Inorganic Substances
  • Reaxys
    Find properties for organic, inorganic and organometallic substances. Known in print as Beilstein or Gmelin.
    Tip: put the molecular formula in Hill Order.
 

Subject Experts

Erja Kajosalo

Librarian for Chemistry & Chemical Engineering

kajosalo@mit.edu

Angie Locknar

Librarian for Materials Science & Engineering,
Mechanical Engineering, & Engineering Systems

locknar@mit.edu

 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | MIT | Contact Us

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip