Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

MIT People: Faculty and Staff

Human Resources Department

Please Note: Distinctive Collections is not permitted to verify employment or release personnel records. Contact the MIT Human Resources Department directly for personnel questions.

MIT Human Resources Department
P.O. Box 391229
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Telephone: 617.253.4251

Resources with Photographs

The following resources may be useful in locating photographs of MIT faculty and staff.


Technique (MIT’s Yearbook), 1877-present, T171.M4257. Physical copies are available in Distinctive Collections. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. Digitized versions of 1885-1930 as well as special publication by the Technique staff including Technology War Record, New Campus Sketched 1916, and class of 1928 Freshman Gray Book are searchable and available at http://technique.mit.edu/archive/.

Yearbooks include information about the corporation, departments, student life, clubs and organizations, as well as individual photos of seniors accompanied by information often including birth date, hometown, course, campus involvement, and title of thesis.

Please note: from 1885 – 1924 (volume 38) one must look in the year following graduation for senior information (ie. Class of 1919 is pictured in the 1920 Technique). Beginning in 1924 (volume 39) seniors are included in their graduation year (ie. Class of 1930 is included in 1930 Technique). 

The Tech, MIT’s student run newspaper in publication since 1881. 

Issues up until August of 2016 are made searchable at http://tech.mit.edu/browse.html, all current issues are available at https://thetech.com/.

It is published weekly during the regular school year and monthly during the summer.

Robert H. Richards, Professor of Mining Engineering and Metallurgy

Robert H. Richards' Professor Entry in 1902 Technique

Robert H. Richards, Professor of Mining Engineering and Metallurgy (1902 Technique, 13) 

MIT Museum and Photographs

Please Note: Although the Department of Distinctive Collections houses a small number of photographs, most photographs documenting the Institute are housed at the MIT Museum. 

MIT Museum
Building N52-2nd fl.
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Inquiry form: https://webmuseum.mit.edu/referenceinq.php
Telephone: 617.253.4440
Email: museum-reference@mit.edu
URL: http://web.mit.edu/museum/

Distinctive Collections

The following resources may be useful if you have information about organizations, departments, or events associated with the person you are researching.

MIT ArchivesSpace provides a searchable database of Distinctive Collections various collections. Collections of specific note many include various academic departments, administrative records, and personal papers relating to MIT faculty and staff.

Please note: All archives and manuscript collections are stored offsite and must be ordered at least two days in advance of a visit. 

Publications

MIT publications may be found using the MIT’s Barton classic catalog

Please note: Many MIT publications are stored offsite and require advance notice of 2 business days for viewing in the Distinctive Collections reading room.

To obtain copies of MIT publications contact MIT Document Services, a unit of the MIT Libraries. A request form is available on line at: https://libraries.mit.edu/docs/app/orders/.

MIT Document Services
Building 14-0551
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Telephone: 617.253.5668
Email: docs@mit.edu
FAX: 617.253.1690
URL: http://libraries.mit.edu/docs/

Technology Review, 1899-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M4256.T43. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. The following issues of the Technology Review are available online through Google Books or archive.org: 1899, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923.

This resource is useful because many of the articles are written by or address work completed by MIT faculty and staff. 

An index of the Technology Review is available through 1972 is available in the IASC Reading Room.

The Technology Review has occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Technology Review, 1899-1997 (T171.M4256.T43)

MIT's Technology Review, 1997-1998 (T171.M4256.T43)

Technology Review: MIT's Magazine of Innovation, 1998-Present (T171.M4256.T43)

Economics, Statistics, and Political Science Courses from 1901-1902 Course Catalog

Economics, Statistics, and Political Science Schedule (1901-1902 Course Catalog, Page 155)

Directories and Biographies

These sources function as directories or lists of faculty and staff. They are primarily available in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room; however, parts may be digitized and available online. 


Faculty and Staff Directories, 1942-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M42b.S77.

This resource includes information regarding positions within departments as well as names and locations of affiliated labs. 

The Faculty and Staff Directories have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Staff Directory, 1942-1943 (T171.M42b.S77).

Staff and Telephone Directory, 1944-1963 (T171.M42b.S77).

M.I.T. Telephone Directory, 1963-1976/77 (T171.M42b.S77). 

Directory, 1977/78-1989/90 (T171.M42b.S77).

Faculty and Staff Directory, 1990/91-2010/11 (T171.M42b.S77). 

Register of Former Students and Alumni, 1893-2002. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M47. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. The following issue have been digitized and are searchable through Google Books, Archive.org, or Hathi Trust: 1903/04 , 1909, 1912, 1915, 1920, 1930, 1935, 1940.

The arrangement of names is by class year or alphabetical order. They are variously indexed alphabetically, geographically, by class year, by department, living, and deceased. This Register was published in 1893, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1915, 1920, 1925, 1930, 1935, 1940, 1948, 1955, 1961, 1967, 1975, 1984, 1989, 1994, and 2002; following the 2002 publication, the alumni register was made available online only.

Of specific note, the 1967 register is particularly strong as it includes more information that the registers to follow. More specifically, it is the last register to include faculty information. 

This information prior to 1893 is available in the Course Catalogs (T171.M42).  

The register has occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Register of Graduates, 1893, 1903/1904-1911 (T171.M47)

Register of Former Students, 1909-1940 (T171.M47)

MIT Alumni Register, 1948-1984 (T171.M47)

MIT Alumni/ae Register, 1989-2002 (T171.M47)

Biographies of Members of the Faculty and Officers of Administration, July 1879-July 1949. Available for viewing in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room upon request Folio T171.M421.F14 1950.

This resource includes limited biographies of individuals as well as photographs of these individuals. 

Please Note: This collection is stored offsite and must be requested in advance of a visit. 

Index available in Distinctive Collections Reading Room. 

 

Norbert Wiener meets Albert Einstein

Wiener to sister Bertha regarding Einstein, 27 July 1925

Norbert Wiener to sister Bertha, 27 July 1925, Norbert Wiener Papers (MC-0022) Box 2 Folder 26.  

Resources Available Online

These sources while available in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room have been digitized and are searchable and made available online. 


Annual Reports to the President, 1871-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M4195. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. These reports are searchable and available online through Dome

These reports serve as a summary of the year's activities and an introduction to the next year's goals. Specifically, they include lists of faculty, personnel, and trustees; statistics about students; and treasurer reports. 

The Reports to the President have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Reports of the President, Secretary, and Departments, 1870/71-1871/72 (T171.M4195). 

President's Report for the year ending..., 1873-1877; 1883-1931/32 (T171.M4195). 

President's Report Issue, 1936/37-1964 (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President, 1966-1970/71 (T171.M4195). 

Reports to the President, 1982/1983-present (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President and the Chancellor, 1971/72-1979/80 (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President, 1980/81-1981/82 (T171.M4195). 

Reports to the President, 2001/02-present (T171.M4195). 

 

Course Catalogs, 1865-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M42. These catalogs are searchable and available online through Dome.

The bulletins include directories of students, degree candidates, and faculty lists.

Rules and Regulations of the Faculty, 1879-2007. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M4199. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. These reports are searchable and available online through Dome

This source establishes the roles and responsibilities of the Standing Committees of the MIT Faculty, governs its legislative processes, and states its regulations pertaining to the academic calendar, admissions, registration, grades, degrees, and more.

Current Rules and Regulations can be found here: https://facultygovernance.mit.edu/rules-and-regulations. 

The Rules and Regulations of the Faculty have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Rules of the Faculty, 1879?; 1892; 1898; 1903; 1907/08; 1910/11; 1914-1917; 1919; 1921; 1927; 1930; 1932 (T171.M4199). 

Rules and Regulations of the Faculty, 1937; 1939; 1944; 1949-1955; 1957-1970/71; 1975-2007 (T171.M4199). 

Ask Distinctive Collections!

For inquiries about sources or other questions, please contact Ask Distinctive Collections!