Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

MIT People: Other Resources

General Resources

The following resources may be useful if you have information about organizations, departments, or events associated with the person you are researching.

MIT ArchiveSpace provides a searchable database of Distinctive Collections's various collections. Collections of specific note many include various academic departments as well as collections related to Alumni and Alumnae of MIT.

Please note: All archives and manuscript collections are stored offsite and must be ordered at least two days in advance of a visit. 

The Tech, MIT’s student run newspaper in publication since 1881. It is published weekly during the regular school year and monthly during the summer. Issues up until August of 2016 are made searchable at http://tech.mit.edu/browse.html, all current issues are available at https://thetech.com/.

Tech Talk (T171.M42k.T4), MIT’s official newspaper written and published by the MIT News Office. It was published on a semi weekly basis from 1957 to September 2009.  This publication is available in the IASC reading room on microfilm, with originals being made available with the necessary notice.

MIT News Office, is a part of MIT’s Office of Communications. Recent press releases are searchable and made available at http://news.mit.edu/search. The Distinctive Collections also holds the MIT, News Office Records where a number of press releases have been digitized and are made available through the finding aid.

"Pulls the Job," Social Beaver 1960

"Pulls the Job" (Social Beaver 1960, 63)

Other Local Resources

The following repositories are located within the greater Boston area and may contain information regarding former MIT students and alumni/ae and MIT faculty and staff. 


Aeronautical Engineering Students during World War I

Aeronautical Engineering Students, World War I

Student-Officers in Aeronautical Engineering Removing Engine from Airplane Fuselage. (Technology War Record, 27). 

Federal Government Affiliated Resources

Many students and professors during their time at MIT and shortly thereafter were involved in government projects or were completing work recognized and valued by the United States Government. The Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration are home to some collections relating to former MIT students and professors as well as projects that were based on MIT's campus. 


Ask Distinctive Collections!

For inquiries about sources or other questions, please contact Ask Distinctive Collections!