Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

MIT People: Students and Alumni

Office of the Registrar

Please Note: The only office at MIT allowed to officially verify attendance and graduation of former students is that of the Registrar.


Office of the Registrar
MIT, Building 5-119
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Attn: Verification of MIT Attendance
Telephone: 617.253.2658
FAX: 617.253.7459
URL: http://web.mit.edu/registrar/

Resources with Photographs

The following resources may be useful in locating photographs as well as biographical information regarding students and alumni of MIT.


Technique (MIT’s Yearbook), 1877-present, T171.M4257. Physical copies are available in Distinctive Collections Reading Room. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries.  Digitized versions of 1885-1930 as well as special publication by the Technique staff including Technology War Record, New Campus Sketched 1916, and class of 1928 Freshman Gray Book are searchable and available at http://technique.mit.edu/archive/.

Yearbooks include information about the corporation, departments, student life, clubs and organizations, as well as individual photos of seniors accompanied by information often including birth date, hometown, course, campus involvement, and title of thesis.

Please note: from 1885 – 1924 (volume 38) one must look in the year following graduation for senior information (ie. Class of 1919 is pictured in the 1920 Technique). Beginning in 1924 (volume 39) seniors are included in their graduation year (ie. Class of 1930 is included in 1930 Technique). 

Senior Portfolios, 1893 – 1914. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M46S4.

These books served as “Face books” for the senior class and pre-date the yearbooks inclusion of individual senior portraits and information. They are arranged based on course and often include a photograph, birth date, hometown, education prior to MIT, campus involvement, and thesis.

The portfolios have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

MIT, Class of ... its Book, 1893/94 (T171.M46S4

The Class of ... its Book, 1895 (T171.M46S4

Class of ... Portfolio, 1896 (T171.M46S4)

Senior Portfolio, 1897-1911, 1913-1914 (T171.M46S4)

Freshman Picture Books, Class of 1953-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M4242 F7.

These books include the following information about students: a photograph, education prior to MIT, and hometown. They are published in August before classes begin in September; thus, they may include individuals who were set to come in August, but had a change of plans, and may not include those who were admitted in August before starting classes in September.

The Tech, MIT’s student run newspaper in publication since 1881. 

Issues up until August of 2016 are made searchable at http://tech.mit.edu/browse.html, all current issues are available at https://thetech.com/.

It is published weekly during the regular school year and monthly during the summer.

MIT Class of 1902

Photo of the Class of 1902 in front of Boston Public Library. (1902 Technique, 70).

MIT Museum and Photographs

Please Note: Although the Department of Distinctive Collections houses a small number of photographs, most photographs documenting the Institute are housed at the MIT Museum. 

MIT Museum
Building N52-2nd fl.
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Inquiry form: https://webmuseum.mit.edu/referenceinq.php
Telephone: 617.253.4440
Email: museum-reference@mit.edu
URL: http://web.mit.edu/museum/

MIT Theses and Publications

MIT Theses may be located through MIT’s Barton catalog function that limits the search to only MIT Theses.

Of additional note, early theses were often cataloged using only first initial or were often times co-authored with a fellow student. It is with this in mind that we recommend searching by last name and sorting by date to ensure easy identification of a given thesis.

If a thesis has already been digitized, there will be a link in its catalog record.

MIT publications may be found using the MIT’s Barton classic catalog


Please note: MIT Theses and many MIT publications are stored offsite and require advance notice of 2 business days for viewing in the Distinctive Collections reading room.

To obtain copies of MIT theses and publications contact MIT Document Services, a unit of the MIT Libraries. A request form is available on line at: https://libraries.mit.edu/docs/app/orders/.

MIT Document Services
Building 14-0551
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Telephone: 617.253.5668
Email: docs@mit.edu
FAX: 617.253.1690
URL: http://libraries.mit.edu/docs/

Commonly Consulted Collections

The following are resources that are often commonly used relating to students and alumni. To search Distinctive Collections holdings for specific individuals or affiliated groups/departments please visit, MIT ArchivesSpace. 


MIT, Class Photograph Albums (AC-0319). This collection is composed of class photo albums received by early MIT alumni (1870-1895) and lose photos composed primarily of individual portrait photographs of class members, faculty, and administrators of MIT. Specific classes included are as follows: 1870, 1873, 1882, 1885, 1887, 1888, 1889, 1890, 1891, 1892, 1893, 1894, and 1895.

MIT, Records of the Association of Alumni and Alumnae of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (AC-0010) These records were created by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Alumni Association to keep track of alumni deaths as part of of the periodic publication of an alumni directory. 

Collection on Student Life at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MC-0618). The collection contains materials that document student life on the MIT campus, including notebooks and papers, news clippings, magazines, student publications, photographs, brochures and programs, and other memorabilia donated by MIT alumni and alumnae, families, friends, and affiliates. 

Interviews of the Margaret MacVicar Memorial AMITA Oral History Project (MC-0356). This collection includes oral histories conducted by MIT undergraduates in an effort to document the lives of women who attended MIT. More information about the project is available at http://amita.alumgroup.mit.edu.  

While this collection is available for viewing in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room, it has been digitized and are searchable and available online through Dome

MIT Crew Certificate

F. Stapleton 1924 Crew Certificate

F. Stapleton MIT Crew Certificate, Collection on Student Life at MIT (MC-0618), Box 10. 

MIT Alumni/ae Association

The MIT Alumni/ae Association may have information about students who attended the Institute.

Association of Alumni and Alumnae
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307
Telephone: 1.800.MIT.1865
Email: aacomments@mit.edu
URL: http://alum.mit.edu

Resources without Photographs

The following resources are commonly used in learning more about students and student life on MIT’s campus, but does not include photographs.


Student Directories, 1916-2011. Shelved in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M42b.S78. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. 

These directories include information regarding an individual’s course of study, year identification, place of residence while on campus, and home address. Individuals are listed in alphabetical order by last name.

The directories have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Directory of Students, 1916 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Directory of Officers and Students, 1917/18-1932/33 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Directory Issue, Staff and Students, 1933/34-1941/42 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Directory Issue, Students, 1942/43-1951/52 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Student Directory, 1952-1968 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Student Directory Including Foreign Student Directory, 1969-1974 (T171.M42b.S78). 

Student Directory, 1975/76-2010/11 (T171.M42b.S78).

 

Graduation Exercises (1880-1960) and Degree Lists (1961-present). Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M42j. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. 

The graduation exercises and degree lists provide lists of those who graduated from MIT in that year as well as information regarding commencement activities.

These graduation related publications have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Graduation Exercises, 1880-1980 (T171.M42j). 

Degrees Awarded, 1934-present (T171.M42j). 

Commencement Exercises, 1981-present (T171.M42j). 

Resources Regarding Student Life

MIT Handbooks, Shelved in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room under various call numbers. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries.  The Handbooks in all their iterations have been digitized and are searchable and available online through Dome

These handbooks contain information regarding MIT's campus, local culture, social activities and academics.

The handbooks have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Handbook of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1913/194-1953 (T171.M42.S678)

The Social Beaver, 1954-1969 (T171.M42.S678)

This is MIT, 1924 (T171.M42.T4); 1952-1968 (T171.M42.T4)

MIT Today, 1976/1977-Present (T171.M42.T4)

How To Get Around MIT, 1969-Present (T171.M42H.H847)

Course Catalogs, 1865-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M42. These catalogs are searchable and available online through Dome.

The bulletins include directories of students, degree candidates, and faculty lists.

Annual Reports to the President, 1871-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M4195. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries. These reports are searchable and available online through Dome

These reports serve as a summary of the year's activities and an introduction to the next year's goals. Specifically, they include lists of faculty, personnel, and trustees; statistics about students; and treasurer reports. 

The Reports to the President have occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Reports of the President, Secretary, and Departments, 1870/71-1871/72 (T171.M4195). 

President's Report for the year ending..., 1873-1877; 1883-1931/32 (T171.M4195). 

President's Report Issue, 1936/37-1964 (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President, 1966-1970/71 (T171.M4195). 

Reports to the President, 1982/1983-present (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President and the Chancellor, 1971/72-1979/80 (T171.M4195). 

Report of the President, 1980/81-1981/82 (T171.M4195). 

Reports to the President, 2001/02-present (T171.M4195). 

The M.I.T. Social Beaver, 1958

1958 Social Beaver Handbook

The MIT Social Beaver 1958, T171.M42.T4 1958

Resources Regarding Life as a Former Student or Alumni

The following resources may be useful in learning information regarding an individual’s life as a former student or an alumni.


Register of Former Students and Alumni, 1893-2002. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M47. While Distinctive Collections holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries.  The following issue have been digitized and are searchable through Google Books, Archive.org, or Hathi Trust: 1903/04 , 1909, 1912, 1915, 1920, 1930, 1935, 1940.

The arrangement of names is by class year or alphabetical order. They are variously indexed alphabetically, geographically, by class year, by department, living, and deceased. This Register was published in 1893, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1915, 1920, 1925, 1930, 1935, 1940, 1948, 1955, 1961, 1967, 1975, 1984, 1989, 1994, and 2002; following the 2002 publication, the alumni register was made available online only.

Of specific note, the 1967 register is particularly strong as it includes more information that the registers to follow. 

Information regarding former students and alumni prior to 1893 is available in the Course Catalogs (T171.M42).  

The register has occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Register of Graduates, 1893, 1903/1904-1911 (T171.M47)

Register of Former Students, 1909-1940 (T171.M47)

MIT Alumni Register, 1948-1984 (T171.M47)

MIT Alumni/ae Register, 1989-2002 (T171.M47)

Class Reunion Books, class of 1870-present (not complete). Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room, T171.M4258.

This resource provides biographical sketches (typed or in their own hand), directories, bibliographies, and occasionally photographs.

There are many class years represented, though not every class is present. Additionally, there are some classes where multiple reunion books are present.

Technology Review, 1899-present. Shelved in Distinctive Collections Reading Room T171.M4256.T43. While IASC holds the most complete set, many copies are available in other locations within MIT libraries.  The following issues of the Technology Review are available online through Google Books or archive.org: 1899, 1900, 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1914, 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923.

This resource is useful because it includes class related notes at the back of each publication. 

An index of the Technology Review through 1972 is available in the Distinctive Collections Reading Room.

The Technology Review has occurred in the following iterations accompanied by links to the Barton Catalog Record which details MIT holding information:

Technology Review, 1899-1997 (T171.M4256.T43)

MIT's Technology Review, 1997-1998 (T171.M4256.T43)

Technology Review: MIT's Magazine of Innovation, 1998-Present (T171.M4256.T43)

Ask Distinctive Collections!

For inquiries about sources or other questions, please contact Ask Distinctive Collections!