Search
Account
Search
Account
Use this menu to explore the Book Arts guide.
MIT Libraries Artists' Book Collection History
Request Distinctive Collections Material
Look for these call numbers in the stacks
Text Mixed/Different Formats/ Type/Materials
Out of the Sky - Werner Pfeiffer Interview
MIT Libraries' artists' book collection has grown through the dedicated efforts of librarians, conservators, and staff who recognized the importance of these unique art forms in academic settings.
Building the FoundationThe collection began taking shape in 2013 when Lorrie McAllister, Rotch Librarian, started systematic collecting. She acquired foundational works and the groundbreaking 3D-printed Orihon—the first of its kind. McAllister built important relationships by connecting conservators with visiting artists and dealers, establishing a network that would benefit the collection for years to come.
As the collection grew, former Architecture Librarian Lareese Hall broadened its scope to include zine-making alongside traditional artists' books. This expansion recognized zines as an important form of book arts, embracing both high art and grassroots publishing.
Meanwhile, Former interns and interim Architecture and Planning Librarians Anna Boutin and Alena McNamara worked to make the collection more accessible by creating YouTube documentation. Their efforts helped researchers and students discover these unique materials beyond the physical library space.
Jana Dambrogio, The Thomas F. Peterson (1957) Conservator, brought her expertise to bear on acquisitions, recommending artists she encountered at professional conferences. Her connections in the conservation world helped identify significant works and emerging artists.
A major turning point came in 2018 when Kai Alexis Smith joined as Architecture and Planning Librarian. Smith approached collecting strategically, identifying gaps in the collection while collaborating with Emilie Hardman, then the head of Distinctive Collections, to expand into zines and indie tarot decks.
Both Smith and Hardman prioritized diversity and inclusion, intentionally seeking out diverse, equitable, inclusive, and accessible (DEIA) creators and marginalized makers and content. This commitment brought new voices and perspectives into the collection, making it more representative of contemporary book arts.
In 2020, Smith and Aga Khan Documentation Center (AKDC) staff launched the now-popular biannual Books and Bites events in Rotch Library. These gatherings give attendees hands-on access to rare books while connecting them with library experts who can share insights about the collection.
2022 brought creative solutions for supporting book-making beyond formal classes. Smith partnered with Wunsch Lab to create grab-and-go maker backpacks filled with supplies that Rotch staff had collected over the years. These portable kits let students and faculty create artists' books anywhere on campus.
That same year, former AKDC curator Gwendolyn Collaço joined the team and made an immediate impact by expanding the collection to include Islamic artists. Her efforts helped fill an important gap and brought new cultural perspectives to the collection.
Building on this work, Smith collaborated with Marketing Admin Ned Wolf and the DDC Public Services team in 2023 to create video documentation of new acquisitions by Islamic artists, making these works more visible to the MIT community through social media.
DDC Instruction & Outreach Archivist Rebecca Bramlett arrived in 2023 with deep book arts and special collections expertise. Her fresh perspective led to new outreach initiatives and collaborative IAP workshops that continue to engage students with hands-on book-making experiences.
Throughout this growth, Smith championed tactile, alternative forms of research by bringing artists' books directly into classrooms. Wunch Lab staff and Smith designed instructional foldable books based on techniques from Hedi Kyle's Art of the Fold, giving students tools to create their own book arts.
The team developed innovative ways to help people explore the collection independently. Smith created one-page descriptions with QR codes displayed in vertical stands, allowing visitors to choose between guided group experiences or self-directed discovery during collection events.
Today, Smith and Bramlett continue building the collection through this comprehensive guide, which serves both as a resource for further acquisitions and a tool for promoting hands-on learning experiences throughout MIT's campus community.
Image: Shedding Light by Heather Weston