This is a massive, 25-pound book, bound in sheet metal, which takes on the subject of fracking with a focus on the history of the resistance to this extraction practice in New York State and beyond. The book features 50 screenprints by a diverse and inter-generational selection of artists.

Iceberg Volume III, The Last Iceberg, by Suze Woolf, is the last of a three volume set. This series explores the decline in Arctic ice due to the climate crisis. This volume consists of two books. One represents the bottom of the iceberg and the other is the top. The top book includes subtle white text of ice and glacier terms that are gradually replaced by liquid and water terms throughout the 25 page book.

Panorama explores the issue of climate change from Chen’s artistic perspective, simultaneously expressing hope and helplessness in the face of this growing crisis. Opening to a full width of 5 feet, this book engulfs the reader/viewer in an experience both moving and surprising with large format pop-ups and interactive folded sections that interlace personal thought with aspects of a more universal reality.

"The Moon Has No Weather" explores the moon as a cosmic archive. Sarah's project began at the Minnesota Center for Book Arts, where her cast-paper spheres resembled space debris and her marbled paper evoked planetary surfaces. Drawing inspiration from an 1885 astronomy book and a podcast about how the moon's weatherless surface preserves its history, the installation evolved into a complete artistic exploration.

This minimalist silkscreen-printed accordion book investigates the aesthetic quality of sewing thread as a graphic resource while exploring cosmic geometry. Through embroidery, the artist illustrates an original nighttime poem, inviting viewers to examine details closely and discover their textural and tactile qualities.

Libraries face constant threats of loss through earthquakes, legal changes, and institutional collapse, as Internet Archive founder Brewster Kahle observes. When Trump took office on January 20, 2017, the White House website immediately transitioned from Obama's policies to the new administration's content. Key issues like healthcare, education, and immigration vanished, while searches for "climate change," "LGBT," and "civil rights" returned 404 errors. Even Spanish-language and accessibility features disappeared. Internet Archive captured 167 snapshots of whitehouse.gov during this transition. This book preserves the final snapshots of Obama's policies before their removal.

Artist Sarah Bryant and biologist David Allen created this data visualization book using US Census population pyramids to generate abstract human forms. The collaborators acknowledge their source material's limitations: "The data combines accurate reporting, biased self-description, outdated reports, and Census Bureau projections. It is a flawed narrative from our conflicting desires to give exact accounts while telling stories about ourselves."

With this book Chen takes a look at the experiential process of acquiring knowledge, on both academic and personal levels. The piece is designed to give the reader a physical reading experience that mirrors the complex meaning of the content. Eight sections of rigid square pages are hinged together in unexpected ways and when the book is fully unfolded it reveals an intricate and fascinating visual pattern of information.

This multi-part artist book creates a virtual ocean wave using sequential random numbers and mathematical formulas from post-WWII wave forecasting research. The wave appears in two forms: a pull-out 3D paper model with thirty-two sequential cross-sections and a multi-color linocut print representing those same cross-sections. The linocut incorporates written descriptions of actual wind conditions and Beaufort Wind Scale photographs, though the final image has no photographic equivalent in nature.

Libraries face constant threats of loss through earthquakes, legal changes, and institutional collapse, as Internet Archive founder Brewster Kahle observes. When Trump took office on January 20, 2017, the White House website immediately transitioned from Obama's policies to the new administration's content. Key issues like healthcare, education, and immigration vanished, while searches for "climate change," "LGBT," and "civil rights" returned 404 errors. Even Spanish-language and accessibility features disappeared. Internet Archive captured 167 snapshots of whitehouse.gov during this transition. This book preserves the final snapshots of Obama's policies before their removal.

This artist adapts text from Stephen Hawking’s “A Brief History of Time” to meditate on the passing of time. The book started at the beginning of the global pandemic in 2020 and explores themes of time travel, grief, identity, and aging. “The duality and complexity of the structure echoes the difficulty of understanding our personal relationships and our place in space-time.”

The book was inspired by a bundle of aeronautical maps that made the artists think of a plane flying over the horizon. Constructed with a sewn board binding covered in stitched indigo flax paper. The bundle of maps, tinted with an acrylic wash, became the book's 70 signatures. They are link stitched to mimic map lines across the spine. A paper airplane soars from beyond the blue horizon.

This work responds to pandemic confinement and political toxicity that intensified the artist's feelings of being compartmentalized. Exploring privilege, bias, and isolation, the artist notes: "Though we don't choose our race, gender, environment, or family, we face advantages and disadvantages based on these rigid structures." Three separate books unite into one, questioning what boxes us in, where these associations originate, and why biases create disadvantages.

"Cities and Skies" uses excerpts from Italo Calvino's 1972 novel "Invisible Cities," which describes 55 imaginary cities told by Marco Polo to Kublai Khan. The artist focused on five cities from Calvino's "Cities and the Sky" sections: Eudoxia, Beersheba, Thekla, Perinthia, and Andria. Original drawings were laser-etched onto transparent acrylic pages, with threads connecting from front cover through each page to back cover. Each rigid page features one drawing and the corresponding city name. The complete text of all five chapters appears on a scroll housed in the book's custom box alongside the sewn, thread-linked transparent volume.

Artists book as a sculptural piece. Resembles a ribcage and the artist plays with the way in which her body and the city (Montreal) interact. Screen print ribs held together by accordion city. The narrative of the book is hidden within the ribs, and can be read several different ways: left to right, back to front, however each viewer personally approaches the bookwork.

This pop up book was inspired by a 1570 Ortelius atlas. The featured sites are based around the author's homes in Boston and Michigan, and Florence, Italy. Readers navigate stylized maps with found objects like vintage stamps and compasses.

This book is a history of the 1980s and 90s Lower East Side activist art movement, which centered on housing, economics, healthcare, gay and lesbian rights, and other civil rights issues. It is also a public art project that featured some of the most well-known artists of that movement and the American art world of that time. 29 posters were printed in an edition of approximately 300; half formed the book and half were posted in the neighborhood. These posters dialogue with the ongoing issues of gentrification, conservation, urban development, and social justice that form the bedrock of the Lower East Side experience.

"American Breeding Standards" examines systematic rules defining "good" horses and women, exploring steps to achieve breed standards. Printed from photo-polymer plates and handset type, the book features an exposed spine sewn on Cave Paper tapes with paste paper-covered boards. Text excerpts from 1895's "American Horses and Horse Breeding" and 2012's "Canine Breeding Standards" combine with original artist content. The book includes a hinged pop-up cover and three interior foldouts.

Yes, this is an artists’ book! Duster 2 is a part of a series of "tool" books where the artist was working with the forms, mechanics, or parts of common tools. These book objects reflect on the meaning of the tool and of "the book," particularly when each is transformed by its "dual" function.

This title came about after the artist had an experience with someone who was unnecessarily mean to them and digested the experience through conversations around types, reasons, stereotypes and more, which turned into an artists book. Wylde and Chew bring a light-hearted approach, yet poignant play on catty behaviors couched by a feline perspective. Designed as a movable board book, each spread contains user interactive elements such as wheels, pop-ups, pulls, spinners, windows, flaps, a game and ephemera.

"For this book about the home, I 'designed' an architectural album of an imaginary middle-class suburban house, filling its plans and layout with the many proverbs I've found about woman in the home. The book was printed to look like the almost obsolete Diazo printing (blue-printing), but in fact, is archival inkjet. The proverbs depict a prevailing misogyny that is as funny as it is painful."--Artist's statement.

Yes! These are artists' books, too. These three titles are part of the Proverbial Threads series. The artist explores how proverbs from cultures around the world describe women’s work. The texts are manipulated to create textile-weaving patterns on the paper around industrial textile bobbins. The three titles in our collection are connected to the architecture of the home in some way.

(A wife is serviceable in Every Room - DUTCH)
(Not all nice houses are good to spend the night in - BAMBARA, MALI)
(A good wife is the best piece of furniture - DUTCH, GERMAN, DANISH)

Ul’nigid is a Cherokee word that means strong. Indigenous artist Rhiannon Skye Tafoya made this book to honor her artist Grandmother, Martha Reed-Bark. This moveable book structure is able to take on multiple renderings, and utilizes letterpress printing with Cherokee syllabary metal type and weaving processes similar to those of a traditional Cherokee white oak basket. Ul’nigid’ is a demonstration of love and remembrance. Each technical process portrays strength and delicacy, allowing the artist to communicate a contemporary indigenous voice with deep influences from her traditional grandmother.

This project explores Hawai'i's occupied state and history of organized resistance. Milham combines music composed by Queen Lili'uokalani (recorded by the artist) with detailed artwork and packaging that tells Hawai'i's story. The content unfolds through interactive layers, creating an intense discovery process meant to be sifted through, understood, and felt.

"Shedding Light" explores the book as tactile object by removing visual narrative clues and presenting only Braille text, inviting sighted readers to feel rather than see the story. A visual Braille alphabet card helps decode the hidden narrative. When light shines through the page, readers discover the textual translation on the reverse side, emphasizing light's role in reading. The ambiguous title references both the "loss of light" implied by Braille and the "casting of light" needed to complete conventional reading.

Explore this book as a physical sculptural art object by former MIT Architecture Faculty J. Meejin Yoon. Absence is a memorial to the twin towers of the World Trade Center. Yoon created this non-architectural, non site-specific space of remembrance: a portable personal memorial in the form of book instead of producing a traditional design proposal for the World Trade Center Memorial Competition. This 2-pound book has a considerable physical presence and features die-cut shapes throughout, leaving the impression of each of the World Trade Center’s floors. Quiet, respectful, and restrained, this book speaks without words of absolute loss and mourning.

Holding all 14 Bauhaus books in a protective slipcase, this limited edition box set features the legendary Bauhaus design school publications (between 1925-1930) that explore core ideas of the Bauhaus in art, design, and architecture and offers deep insights into a movement that greatly influenced modern aesthetics.

"The Radiant Republic" combines language from Plato's "Republic" and Le Corbusier's "The Radiant City"—texts separated by two millennia that each describe urban plans designed to framework morality and ethics. Though revered, both works are deeply troubling. This artist's book merges their language into a five-part narrative, each section bound separately and featuring portions of an interlocking landscape with no fixed beginning or end. The project is housed in an elaborate enclosure of wood, cement, and glass.

Explore audiovisual storytelling, co produced with Radiotopia from PRX

This issue features:
- A short fiction piece with two alternative audio endings by American short story writer Rion Amilcar Scott;
- Pulitzer Prize-nominated composer Kate Soper with a transhumanist, interactive software upload;
- DeafBlind poet John Lee Clark on the limits of accessibility;
- Claudia Dey, Jason Reynolds, Renee Gladman, Sharon Mashihi, and more, taking us on audio tours of our own homes;
- Aliya Pabani with a radio drama whose plot is complicated by a 24″ x 30″ illustrated poster;
- Ian Chillag with an absurdist, interactive phone tree;
- James T. Green, Catherine Lacey, and This American Life’s Sean Cole with voicemail dispatches to the editor;
- National Book Award-finalist Kali Fajardo-Anstine, Aimee Bender, and Kelli Jo Ford with short stories that braid in audio; and so much more.

This book imagines the sonification of light waves in the visual spectrum as fine-tuned pluckable aluminum prongs. Colors represent the converse visualization of sound waves.

This project explores Hawai'i's occupied state and history of organized resistance. Milham combines music composed by Queen Lili'uokalani (recorded by the artist) with detailed artwork and packaging that tells Hawai'i's story. The content unfolds through interactive layers, creating an intense discovery process meant to be sifted through, understood, and felt.

Consists of 14 solo musical voices composed, performed, and recorded by the artist on an electronic wind instrument. Each voice is represented graphically by a moveable panel. Musically, the 14 voices, individually presented on the CD, may be arranged in many different combinations. A visual composition can be created illustrating the musical one using the moveable panels. The video, on the DVD, has the 14 solo voices and three of many possible compositional arrangements with animation of the moveable panels as each voice appears in the composition.

Made by an artist couple team, with a decommissioned Hohner student accordion. Cut apart the bellows and inserted images on one side that were digital prints, and colored by Donna of accordion players from the couple’s private collection. On the other side is text exploring the history of the accordion as an instrument and the history of the accordion book.

This artists’ book must be unbuttoned to read, where the reader will encounter a poem by acclaimed Canadian poet and author Lorna Crozier. The fabric books were screen-printed in an eccentric edition of 10 in 2018. The poem is from Crozier’s The Book of Marvels: A Compendium of Everyday Things.

This artists’ book is an interpretation of the complex and transformative nature of the process of grief. It consists of a sculptural book object housed in a box and the object is held together by a series of magnets that can be opened by the viewer until all the panels lie in a flat plane, revealing an inner book with circular pages that can be held in hand and read.

Yes! These are artists' books, too. These three titles are part of the Proverbial Threads series. The artist explores how proverbs from cultures around the world describe women’s work. The texts are manipulated to create textile-weaving patterns on the paper around industrial textile bobbins. The three titles in our collection are connected to the architecture of the home in some way.

(A wife is serviceable in Every Room - DUTCH)
(Not all nice houses are good to spend the night in - BAMBARA, MALI)
(A good wife is the best piece of furniture - DUTCH, GERMAN, DANISH)

Twenty artists, writers, and a musician sent the artist secrets, which she used to create "titok"—twenty-seven blocks forming a cube with surfaces covered by over two-hundred images and texts. The imaging functions like a maze exploring ideas suggestive of these secrets. Some boxes are closed, some have peepholes, others open to reveal inner boxes. Each contains hidden materials creating noise or scent, accompanied by a 27-part violin and voice composition.

"Trace" is an artist book by Shift-Lab featuring five artists who explore landscapes and human activity's effect on land. The work includes five folded books, a collaborative map, and accompanying artworks. Artists Katie Baldwin, Denise Bookwalter, Sarah Bryant, Macy Chadwick, and Tricia Treacy each created individual maps that fold into single-sheet books, plus a large collaborative map. The project includes framed prints, printed ephemera, a digital newspaper, and sound files, utilizing embroidery, letterpress, risograph, processing software, screenprint, and video/audio capture.

Produced as a companion piece to the book Button and inspired by acclaimed Canadian poet and author Lorna Crozier, Zipper must be unzipped to read the text. As the title indicates, the poem and book are about the characteristics of a zipper – its uses and connotations.

"Wayfinding" examines physical and mental learning through navigation in time and space. The book features three-dimensional cast paper panels and rattling pages housed in shallow hinged boxes. A three-dimensional alphabet from flag semaphore diagrams addresses signaling, translation, and gesture, highlighting how information is absorbed through all senses, not just sight.

This German born artist likes to play with the kinetic form and investigates the nature of paper. This hands-on artists’ book is held in place by an accordion fold and has text on both sides exploring the paper's architectural structure.

Inspired by Barbara Tetenbaum and Julie Chen's "Artist's Book Ideation Cards" and a billboard, Lise Melhorn-Boe used randomly chosen cards and library research to create this artist's book. She gathered quotes and notes through shelf reading, making the intentional decision to create self-generated pop-up text and images. The selected cards included Found TEXT, Muted COLORS, LAYOUT across folds, Self-generated IMAGE, multiple PAPER colors, artist's choice TECHNIQUE, and accordion STRUCTURE, plus five adjectives: Elegant, Textured, Scientific, Opposing, and Loud.

This title came about after the artist had an experience with someone who was unnecessarily mean to them and digested the experience through conversations around types, reasons, stereotypes and more, which turned into an artists book. Wylde and Chew bring a light-hearted approach, yet poignant play on catty behaviors couched by a feline perspective. Designed as a movable board book, each spread contains user interactive elements such as wheels, pop-ups, pulls, spinners, windows, flaps, a game and ephemera.

This pop up book was inspired by a 1570 Ortelius atlas. The featured sites are based around the author's homes in Boston and Michigan, and Florence, Italy. Readers navigate stylized maps with found objects like vintage stamps and compasses.

Accordion-style book with pop-ups by artist Dorothy Yule, recalling her early fascination as a young scientist wanting to understand how the universe worked and where everything came from. Winner of the Librarian's Choice Award (2012), Distinguished Book Award from the Miniature Book Society (2013), and Meggendorfer Prize for Artist Books from the Movable Book Society (2014).

This commemorative artwork honors the fifth anniversary of 9/11 through an interactive experience where assembly is integral to understanding. Pfeiffer created a three-dimensional book with seven segments of four "pages" each that stack to form two towers over five feet tall. The work requires vertical rather than horizontal reading, with victims' names printed vertically to mimic the World Trade Center's exterior texture. Lower portions display abstract imagery evoking the attacks' chaos and aftermath. Watch the short interview by the artists about this title.

This oversized pop-up book features six intricate die-cut paper sculptures that transform from completely flat pages into complex three-dimensional forms. Each sculpture showcases bright, contrasting colors and draws inspiration from fundamental geometric shapes: pyramid, sphere, ziggurat, octagonal bipyramid (gem), arc, and möbius strip.

Augmented Reality artists' book

Libraries face constant threats of loss through earthquakes, legal changes, and institutional collapse, as Internet Archive founder Brewster Kahle observes. When Trump took office on January 20, 2017, the White House website immediately transitioned from Obama's policies to the new administration's content. Key issues like healthcare, education, and immigration vanished, while searches for "climate change," "LGBT," and "civil rights" returned 404 errors. Even Spanish-language and accessibility features disappeared. Internet Archive captured 167 snapshots of whitehouse.gov during this transition. This book preserves the final snapshots of Obama's policies before their removal.

This is a massive, 25-pound book, bound in sheet metal, which takes on the subject of fracking with a focus on the history of the resistance to this extraction practice in New York State and beyond. The book features 50 screenprints by a diverse and inter-generational selection of artists.

This book explores how political borders impact nature. The 1846 Oregon Treaty established the 49th Parallel as the US-Canada boundary, requiring a 20-foot clear-cut swath through 5,525 miles of undisturbed terrain by 1875. Today this deforested line cuts through protected parks, severing shared ecologies across the political divide. Originally the artist's 2014 graduate thesis, the work examines this overlooked border conflict. Over 150 years later, the swath still requires clearing every six years as nature reclaims the space.

This commemorative artwork honors the fifth anniversary of 9/11 through an interactive experience where assembly is integral to understanding. Pfeiffer created a three-dimensional book with seven segments of four "pages" each that stack to form two towers over five feet tall. The work requires vertical rather than horizontal reading, with victims' names printed vertically to mimic the World Trade Center's exterior texture. Lower portions display abstract imagery evoking the attacks' chaos and aftermath. Watch the short interview by the artists about this title.