This site contextualizes the people, places, and events that have shaped the city from the years before the American Civil War through 20th century urban renewal.

Many of Harvard's maps are scanned and available online to the public. They can be searched using Harvard's Geospatial Library. Some maps can be viewed in person with a Harvard Special Borrower Card.

This online collection of over 1500 USGS topographic maps includes complete geographical coverage of New England and New York from the 1890s to 1950s.

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

These atlases, most of which date from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, document the development of neighborhoods over time. The Library’s collection includes approximately 200 atlases, covering 6,500 maps in 12 counties and more than 80 municipalities throughout Massachusetts. The Library has digitized 167 of these volumes and has made them available in PDF form through its institutional repository, DSpace and with individual page images (jpgs) via its Flickr site.

Find and explore data visualizations about the Massachusetts region

Digital images of maps are contained in the MIT libraries DOME collection - try searching keyword 'map'.

Digitized maps of cities & towns across the country that show building footprints, building use, addresses, parks, cemeteries, industrial uses & more.
Dates: 1867-1970
Note: Online access to the Sanborn Maps is only available to members of the MIT Community (by using web certificates).

Click on Collection > View Collection to see scans of many of BPL's historic maps.

View overlays of historic and current maps of Boston.

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

The Broer Map Library is a collection of historic maps, primarily from the 19th & 20th centuries. The collection includes various types of maps and subject matters.

Many of Harvard's maps are scanned and available online to the public. They can be searched using Harvard's Geospatial Library. Some maps can be viewed in person with a Harvard Special Borrower Card.

For more than 125 years, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) topographic maps have accurately portrayed the complex geography of the Nation. The USGS is the largest producer of printed topographic maps, and, prior to 2009, USGS topographic maps were created using traditional cartographic methods and printed using the lithographic printing process. Because historical maps are stored in a limited number of collections and are not readily available, the USGS National Geospatial Program (NGP) is converting these historical printed topographic quadrangles to an electronic format (GeoPDF).

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

Digital images of maps are contained in the MIT libraries DOME collection - try searching keyword 'map'.

Digitized maps of cities & towns across the country that show building footprints, building use, addresses, parks, cemeteries, industrial uses & more.
Dates: 1867-1970
Note: Online access to the Sanborn Maps is only available to members of the MIT Community (by using web certificates).

Find maps from the USGS, state geological surveys, societies, universities, and other sources. Search by name or from a map view.

NOAA Raster Navigational Charts (NOAA RNC®) are full-color digital images of NOAA's entire suite of paper charts. NOAA provides weekly updates to the RNCs, which are available for free on this site in the BSB format. NOAA RNC files are official data that can be used in many types of electronic charting systems, including Raster Chart Display Systems (RCDS) and Electronic Chart Display and Information Systems (ECDIS).

Click on Collection > View Collection to see scans of many of BPL's historic maps.

Visually displays the demographic change that has occurred in the US since 1790 through the present, from country through tract level.

Indexes USGS publications, including maps, open-file reports, and other series; includes some full text access. 1990 - present.

The online collection includes fire insurance maps and historical maps from all over Britain.

The Broer Map Library is a collection of historic maps, primarily from the 19th & 20th centuries. The collection includes various types of maps and subject matters.

The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Provides geographical data and statistics on countries of the world.

A comprehensive database to geoscience literature worldwide.

Many of Harvard's maps are scanned and available online to the public. They can be searched using Harvard's Geospatial Library. Some maps can be viewed in person with a Harvard Special Borrower Card.

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

mappery is a diverse collection of real life maps contributed by map lovers worldwide. For the first time it allows people to easily find relevant and interesting maps of yet unknown places by visually browsing a larger context. mappery makes it easy to find and explore maps by keyword, location, or simply by browsing a map.

Digital images of maps are contained in the MIT libraries DOME collection - try searching keyword 'map'.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Click on Collection > View Collection to see scans of many of BPL's historic maps.

A broad collection of historical maps from around the world.

A variety of online maps from around the world.

Select a country to find maps, articles, and data about recent disasters in that area.

The Gulf/2000 Project was created in 1993 as a service to scholars, government officials, business people, journalists and other specialists who have a professional association with the Persian Gulf and Gulf studies. The site includes maps that are ethnographic and cultural, economic, historical, military, and administrative for the Persian Gulf.

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.