Finding information

5.35 guide

• Finding information sources
• Evaluate information
• Cite your sources
• ACS Style Guide

See also:

• Chemistry guide
• Properties of Materials and Chemicals guide

Need to draw chemical structures? Or biological pathways?

Install ChemBioDraw!

Use these to find articles, conference papers, and other literature on your topic!

Web of Knowledge/Web of Science (1900 -present)

Index to high-impact science, social science, engineering, arts and humanities research journals. Includes cited reference searching.  

SciFinder (1907-present, must register before using the first time)

• Comprehensive chemical information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers.
• Must register before using the first time! Go to http://libraries.mit.edu/cas-reg
• Use this URL to access the database: https://libguides.mit.edu/scifindern
• View SciFinder Tutorials to learn more about how to use SciFinder

Reaxys ( content coverage 1771 - present) 

        Combined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. Search by chemical structures or reactions to retrieve physical/chemical properties, spectra, related reactions, description of reactions as well as references to the literature in which the data appear. It also includes the synthesis planner tool.

PubMed

• NCBI database for research in medicine and biosciences. Includes MEDLINE, other full-text resources, links to NCBI sequencing databases. 

Handbooks and encyclopedias are a great way to learn about a new topic.  Don't forget to check the references at the end of the chapter/section for more detailed information.

You can always find individual books in Barton - both electronic and print!

Selected chemistry handbooks & encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry (print)
• Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (print)
• Encyclopedia of Inorganic & Bioinorganic Chemistry
   
• Encyclopedia of Magnetic Resonance 
• Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry 
• Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
• Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry (print)
• Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC) - Classic
• Handbook of Spectroscopy
• The concise handbook of analytical spectroscopy : theory, applications, and reference materials.
• Inorganic Synthesis
• Organic Syntheses  

Need a definition to a scientific term? Try Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms