Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Find company profiles and financial data for U.S. and international public and private companies, investment firms, and hedge funds. Covers key developments, relationships among firms and people, biographical and contact data, M&A transactions including IPOs, venture capital/private equity data, and regulatory filings.New users can register for an account by following the New User? link on the screen. Login to MIT VPN first if registering for an account remotely .
Capital IQ Capital Structure (via WRDS)
Provides extensive debt capital structure for over 60,000 global public and private companies and equity capital structure data on over 80,000 active and inactive companies worldwide. Capital IQ captures attributes of each debt component, such as security type, secured level, interest rate, maturity date, interest type, interest rate, benchmark, secured flag, convertible type, issued currency, benchmark spread, and more.
Capital IQ Credit Ratings (via WRDS)
Covers 9,000 global issuers including corporates, financial institutions and insurance companies; 600 sovereign, international public finance and government entities; 11,000 structured finance transactions including asset-backed, commercial mortgage-backed and residential mortgage-backed securities and collateralized debt obligations. Historical data for global issuers and structured finance data is available back to 1922; public finance data is available back to 2007.
Capital IQ People Intelligence (via WRDS)
Covers millions of professionals and people including private and public company executives, board members, and investment professionals, globally. Each professional in the Capital IQ database has a distinct profile which can include contact details, biography, education, job functions and titles, board memberships, compensation, insider activity, and options holdings. Note that professional functions cover only current functions.
The CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange) Volatility Index is a key measure of market expectations of near-term volatility conveyed by S&P 500 stock index option prices.
Census: Business & Industry
Quick links to last 3 Economic Censuses, national economic indicators, and national statistics for key sectors
China Data Online
Statistics and reports on China's population, economy, and industries at the national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, including Census data.
Compact Disclosure (Compact D/SEC)
Selected financial information found in the SEC filings of U.S. publicly traded companies. Each CD covers previous ten years of financials. Monthly discs from Oct. 1995-2006 available at Dewey Library.
Compustat: Snapshot (via WRDS)
Historical analysis and backtesting database that provides fundamental financial data on publicly traded companies and shows all values obtained in the data collection process. Provides both the preliminary and the final data.
Compustat Global (via WRDS)
Compustat Global provides detailed fundamental data for major companies trading on international exchanges.
Compustat North America (via WRDS)
Use to find detailed fundamental data for companies trading on all of the major United States and Canadian exchanges. Coverage goes back to 1950.
Conference Board Database
Reports and data on key issues in areas of corporate leadership, economy and business environment, and human capital including annual surveys on CEO succession practices, director compensation and board practices, US top executive compensation, job satisfaction, and sustainability matters . Economic datasets include historical data for key economic indicators.
Consumer Confidence Survey from the Conference Board
The Consumer Confidence Survey from the Conference Board reflects prevailing business conditions and likely developments for the months ahead. This monthly report details consumer attitudes and buying intentions, with data available by age, income, and region. (1967-2019)
Cross-National Time Series Data
Covers economic, social, and political indicators of nations of the world. Select data goes back to 1815. Not all indicators are available for all countries or in all years (even years in which the country existed). For a full list of variables and countries covered, see the CNTS website.
CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices) - (via WRDS)
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX, and Nasdaq stock markets.
CRSP/Compustat Merged (via WRDS)
A convenient way to link CRSP market and corporate action data with Compustat fundamental data. (quarterly updates).
CRSP: Mutual Funds (via WRDS)
Open-ended U.S. mutual fund data from 1961- (quarterly updates).
CRSP: Treasuries (via WRDS)
Complete historical descriptive information and market data since 1925 for most monthly series and 1961 for daily series.
CSMAR (via WRDS)
MIT subscription of China Stock Market and Accounting Research (CSMAR) database covers publicly offered securities investment funds, including fund profile, quotes, performance, income distribution, investment portfolio, and main financial indices.
CUSIP Master File
The CUSIP Master Files provide CUSIP numbers, standardized descriptions and additional data attributes for over 5 million corporate, municipal and government securities offered in North America. To gain access to the master file, contact firstname.lastname@example.org