Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Provides macroeconomic, industrial and financial time series data for over 200 countries. Data for China and India is available at provincial and city level. Data is sourced from national statistical agencies, NGOs, corporate and non-profit organizations. Output can be exported into Excel, R, and Python. 1949-present
China Data Online
Statistics and reports on China's population, economy, and industries at the national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, including Census data.
Historical, global coverage of equities, stock markets, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, company financials, and economic data. We have a limited number of licenses available for MIT faculty and graduate students.To request an account, please fill out this form. Please note that Datastream excel plug-in does not work on Macs,
Walk-in access remains available to all current MIT students, faculty, and staff at Dewey Library on workstations 5 & 6.
EIU Country Reports
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, providing information on politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment for nearly 200 countries. Also included are reports for the automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications industries.
Federal Reserve Bank Reports (via WRDS)
Foreign Exchange Rates (Federal Reserve Board’s H.10 Report), Interest Rates (Federal Reserve Board’s H.15 Report), and FRB-Philadelphia State Indexes.
Global Financial Data
Historical , financial, and economic time series data covering 200 countries and 20,000 data series.
Provides current and historical macroeconomic and financial data for countries in Europe, North America, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa, and Asia Series span 15 sectors of each country’s economy where available. Global Insight includes OECD national accounts data as well as data from International Monetary Fund including the "Direction of Trade Statistics." Also available through WRDS
International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary
Click on Data Topics to access various datasets such as, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and International Financial Statistics.
Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)
Market research data from Euromonitor for 210 countries & 27 industries, including: market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, economic indicators, demographic data, foreign trade statistics, and more.
Penn World Tables (via WRDS)
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004.
States of India
Economic and social data at the state level for India, including state domestic product, inflation, banking, public finance, agriculture, energy, infrastructure, industry, investments, households, population and demographics, employment, education, crime, and election results.
World Development Indicators
WDI provides social, economic, environmental, financial, and health data for over 200 countries and eighteen country groups. Data can be scaled, charted, and exported as an Excel or ASCII file. 1960 to present.