LibGuides: Marketing: Consumer analysis

e-book

Best Customers by New Strategist Publications
ISBN: 9781935114871
Publication Date: 7th ed.
Shows who spends the most and who controls the largest market share on over 300 products and services that are organized into 21 chapters that focus on entertainment, groceries, transportation, etc--everything a consumer might buy.

Navigate this site

Business resources home

Jump to:

See also:

Business & Management Librarian

Shikha Sharma

Contact: sharmash@mit.edu
Room E53-168K
617.253.5670

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Consumer analysis resources

American Factfinder
An excellent source for finding demographic information for all US states, counties, and regions.
American Time Use Survey (BLS)
Measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work; childcare; volunteering; and socializing
Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS)
The consumer expenditure survey provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
eMarketer
Provides updated data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. Useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)
GMID provides marketing data and reports on countries, companies, markets, and consumers internationally. It covers consumer market sizes; forecasts; consumer lifestyles; company share and brand share data; market analysis and industry reports; and comments on demographic, economic, social and political issues; global market trends and outlook etc. Industries covered include alcoholic drinks, automotive parts, consumer electronics, DIY, eyewear, food, health and wellness etc.
Data Axle
Use the Consumer / Lifestyle database for market research, and to understand the buying habits of groups of consumers. Consumers are rated on purchase preferences across nineteen categories and several dozen sub-categories. Ratings are based of on frequency rates (how often purchases in a category are made) and volume (how much is spent in a given category). Data is compiled from multiple opt-in resources, and results are a blend of purchase preference information with household and census type data.
Statista
Find statistics on consumer behavior and attitudes from a variety of government and commercial sources.
Stats America
Great resource for finding statistics on economy, education, population, housing, workforce and many other topics at various geographic levels.
Surveys of Consumers from University of Michigan
Maintained by University of Michigan, this web site contains numerous useful links to data and surveys on consumer sentiment, attitudes, behavior, spending, and expenditure.
Wages by Area and Location (BLS)
Wage and occupation data at national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels from Bureau of Labor Statistics.

What is consumer analysis?

The objective of consumer analysis is to identify segments or groups within a population that have similar needs. Consumer analysis can help answer questions such as:

Who buys the product or service?
Where do these consumers live?
What income levels are in the market?
What is the age pattern in the market?

Answers to these questions help identify target markets for specific products or services and advertising efforts.

Develop a consumer:

Demographic Segmentation: includes age, gender, income, race, marital status, education, occupation, home ownership, number in the household and age of the home.
Psychographic Segmentation: looks at the values, activities, interests, and opinions of the population, what we often call lifestyle.
Behavioral Segmentation: Divides the market by observable behaviors such as usage, purchasing decisions, and brand loyalty.