Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Digital Media Transfer Kits: Home

This guide explains the various devices available for use in Distinctive Collections to transfer digital files from obsolete or hard-to-access media such as floppy disks, zip disks, memory cards, and hard drives in a user's personal collection.

About digital media transfer kits

The Department of Distinctive Collections of MIT Libraries provides users access to legacy hardware to transfer material off of their personal digital media onto their present-day machines.

How to request

Please contact Distinctive Collections to schedule a time to use the items. Kits are available on a daily basis for up to 4 days in a row and will be marked as reserved on the calendar below when in use.

Location and hours

The kits are for use in person at the Distinctive Collections reading room in building 14N-118 during regular hours, typically Monday-Thursday, 10 AM - 4 PM.

Equipment list

Follow the links from each item or use the tabs at the top of the page to learn more and how to use each item.

3.5" USB floppy drive kit

5.25" USB floppy drive kit

Iomega Zip 750 USB drive (works with 750, 250, and 100 Zip disks) kit

25-in-1 memory card reader kit

SATA hard drive docking station kit

Other formats

If you are looking to transfer data from CD or DVD, the Lewis Music Library has drives available for check out.

There is also equipment available in the Libraries on this list for other types of media such as VHS, Laserdiscs, cassettes, and more.

Post-transfer steps

Once you have transferred the files from your media, you will need to consider how to preserve and maintain access to them for the long term. Check out the Next Steps tab for a few guides with approaches you can take to ensure continued access to your files.

Availability

The calendar below details which kits users have already reserved. If it is not listed on the calendar, the kit is most likely available for that day.

Note: These devices are solely for use with personal material and not any of the collections stewarded by the Department of Distinctive Collections.

Warning: The Department Distinctive Collections is not responsible for any data loss or damage to items that may occur in the transfer process. Proceed at your own risk.