LibGuides: Earth Sciences, Atmospheric Sciences, &amp; Oceanography: Home

Search Our Collections

Related guides

Environment

Planetary Sciences

Environmental Engineering

Chemistry - go here to find information on SciFinder

Maps - contact mapshelp@mit.edu if you need help finding maps

Preprints

EarthArXiv
EarthArXiv is an independent preprint server that publishes articles from all subdomains of Earth Science and related domains of planetary science.
ESSOAr
Earth and Space Science Open Archive. Governed by a partnership of several geophysical science societies and Wiley.

MBLWHOI Library

Are you an MIT-WHOI joint program student?

Check out services and resources from the MBLWHOI Library:
https://mblwhoilibrary.org/services

Essential databases for earth science research

GeoRef
Provides an index of and access to journal articles, books, maps, reports, conferences proceedings, and USGS publications in the subjects of geology, geophysics, petrology, geochemistry, mineralogy, hydrology, and soil science. Users can search the database using multiple fields. Use “Get this @ MIT” links to access or request paywalled materials.
Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals.
INSPEC
Find peer-reviewed research covering all aspects of physics, including atmospheric physics.

Other earth sciences databases, full-text publications, and handbooks

Full text publications in geoscience

GeoScienceWorld

Journal articles and ebooks covering the subjects of geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, petrology, paleontology, stratigraphy, geophysics, hydrology, and areal geology. Also provides access to all the content available from the GeoRef database. Includes OpenGeoSci, a map-enhanced interface that allows users to search and discover content by geographic location.

Geological Society of America

Geological Society of London