Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Multimedia in the MIT Libraries
This guide highlights some of the multimedia resources available through the MIT Libraries. The links in this box will take you to a complete list of scholarly tools and resources in the disciplines listed. For disciplines not listed below, please see the complete list of subject guides.
Current trial: Streaming Services
We are seeking feedback on several interdisciplinary streaming video packages. Please visit https://libguides.mit.edu/trials to see what alternatives are available and to give us your feedback.
The following streaming video services are presently available to the MIT community:
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Art and Architecture in Video
More than 400 documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory, and practice of art, design, and architecture; includes real-time transcript highlighting, tools to make clips, embed links, etc.
Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming films of current leading British theater productions. Also includes cast and director interviews.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video of documentaries from a range of disciplines, and including the arts and literature.
Streaming video service with documentary and feature films from producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
LGBT Studies in Video
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
Literature Online (LION)
Scroll down to ‘Audio and video collections’ to access streaming video and audio of poets reading their work as well as audio recordings of Shakespeare performances.
Contains more than 150 interviews with architects, project walk-throughs, and other original video about architectural design. This resource offers closed captioning.
Streaming video of contemporary theatre, dance, and performance art. 2009 - present.
Theatre in Video
Hundreds of performances in many different genres.
Streaming Music - Audio and Video
Roughly 200,000 tracks representing a variety of jazz styles and periods.
Music Online: Listening
Multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. Collections include American Music, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Over 2,000 hours of historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata. Includes the following collections: southern and central Africa, Oceania, Central African Republic, South Asia, Afghanistan, American folk music/U.S.A. South Negro Folklore Collection
Naxos Video Library
Classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and more.
Classical music including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes, artist profiles, and educational films.
Digital Concert Hall
From the Berlin Philharmonic: live broadcasts, videos, and a large archive of recordings. Create a user account for access.
Licensed and local image databases available from the MIT Libraries
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
Dome at MIT
MIT Libraries digital collections can be found in Dome. There are over 70,000 images, maps, and documents. MIT certificates are required for some collections.
MIT Visual Collections * Institute Archives and Special Collections
David Taylor Model Basin * Project Whirlwind
MIT Communications Forum * Perceptual Form of the City
Aga Khan Visual Archive * Charles J. Connick Stained Glass Foundation Collection
ARTstor MIT only
A subscription based digital library of over one million historical and contemporary images related to art, architecture, world events, the humanities and social sciences. Open to anyone on campus. For off campus access to MIT faculty and students, an account is required. See ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use.
Streaming Audio Books
EBSCO Audiobook Collection
A small collection of fiction, history, and other e-audiobooks for download. Download the EBSCO Audiobook app from Google Play or the Apple store and login with your Touchstone account.
Questions about Literature?