Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes to the Scholarly Literature
Collections of Journal Articles and Essays (mostly) in Full-Text
Novels, Plays, Poems and Prose in Full-Text
19th Century UK Periodicals
An online collection of British magazines, journals, and specialty newspapers from the 19th Century.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection [AAS Historical Periodicals Collection]
Thousands of searchable U.S. historical periodicals, covering science, medicine, agriculture, business, literature, women's fashion, family life, religion, politics, etc. Coverage: 1684 - 1912.
American Periodicals Series Online
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th century. 1740 - 1940.
Digitized images of millions of books. Be sure to login with your MIT credentials in order to download copies of pre-1923 texts. Excellent source for 19th century books and some periodicals.
Internet Library of Early Journals
Open database of select 18th and 19th century newspapers from the UK.
Poetry, short stories, plays, speeches, biographies.
New York Times Historical Archive
New York Times from 1851 to the present, minus the last 3 years. More recent articles are available from several vendors - search for "New York Times" in Vera
for a list.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): British Theatre, Music, & Literature
Primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. 1800s.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO): Children's Literature and Childhood
Primary sources from the nineteenth century related to childhood. Includes books, periodicals, pamphlets, educational material produced for children, and more.
TLS, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Includes reviews, articles, and letters. 1902 - 2012. Allows 2 simultaneous users.
More recent articles are available from several vendors - search for "TLS" in Vera
for a list.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming films of current leading British theater productions. Also includes cast and director interviews.
Drama Online: The National Theatre Collection
Streaming video collection of performances from the National Theatre in London.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video of documentaries from a range of disciplines, and including literature.
Streaming video of films, documentaries, and recordings of performances.
MIT Global Shakespeares
Online performances of Shakespeare's plays from around the globe.
Streaming video of contemporary theatre, dance, and performance art. Sponsored by On the Boards in Seattle. 2009 - present.
Off the Presses: New Books
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.