Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These titles below are free and open to all visitors.
Electronic Text Centers
Electronic Texts at the University of Virginia
Contains information about the Electronic Text Center (1992-2007), an early repository of electronic texts.
Oxford Text Archive
The archive "exists to serve the interests of the academic community by providing low-cost archival and dissemination facilities for electronic texts."
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
"This is a collection of public domain and open access documents with a focus on American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Its purpose is to help facilitate a person’s liberal arts education."
Literary Meta-Sites (Websites with Broad Coverage of Literary Resources)
The Association for the Study of Literature and Environment website deals with literature that considers the relationship between human beings and the natural world. It covers the genres of literary nonfiction, nature poetry, and environmental fiction, including ecofeminism.
Voice of the Shuttle: Literature in English
Probably provides the broadest coverage of literature related resources on the net. Maintained by Alan Liu (U C Santa Barbara). Includes its own search engine.
Literary Resources on the Net
A huge collection of literature resources organized by period. Maintained by Jack Lynch (U. of Penn.). Includes its own search engine.
A subject guide to scholarly material in Anglo-American language and literature. Maintained at the State and University Library of Gñttingen. Resources are catalogued using a set of Dublin Core metadata.
Internet Sites Related To Electronic Literature
"This list provides links to sites discussed in an essay entitled 'Literature in Electronic Format:The Traditional English and American Canon,' by Joanne Gates, published in the April 1997 issue of Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries, v. 34, no. 8, pp. 1279-1296." Unusual in that it also includes links to publishers of commercial electronic products.
Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia
founded in 1947 at the University of Charlottesville in order to promote interest in books and manuscripts, maps, printing, the graphic arts and bibliography, and textual criticism. It publishes Studies in Bibliography. http://etext.virginia.edu/bsuva/sb/
Council of Literary Magazines and Presses
Provides support for "creative voices of communities underrepresented in the mainstream culture."
SHARP(Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing)
A web site that includes a great deal of material on printing and publishing history. It contains links to many organizations, exhibits, projects, conferences, teaching resources, journals, etc. dealing broadly with the history of the book.
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.