An online collection of British magazines, journals, and specialty newspapers from the 19th Century.

Thousands of searchable U.S. historical periodicals, covering science, medicine, agriculture, business, literature, women's fashion, family life, religion, politics, etc. Coverage: 1684 - 1912.

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th century. 1740 - 1940.

Digitized images of millions of books. Be sure to login with your MIT credentials in order to download copies of pre-1923 texts. Excellent source for 19th century books and some periodicals.

Open database of select 18th and 19th century newspapers from the UK.

Poetry, short stories, plays, speeches, biographies.

New York Times from 1851 to the present, minus the last 3 years. More recent articles are available from several vendors.

Primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. 1800s.

Primary sources from the nineteenth century related to childhood. Includes books, periodicals, pamphlets, educational material produced for children, and more.

Includes reviews, articles, and letters. 1902 - 2012. Allows 2 simultaneous users. More recent articles are available from several vendors.

Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.

Streaming films of current leading British theater productions. Also includes cast and director interviews.

Streaming video collection of performances from the National Theatre in London.

Streaming video of documentaries from a range of disciplines, and including literature.

Streaming video of films, documentaries, and recordings of performances.

Online performances of Shakespeare's plays from around the globe.

Streaming video of contemporary theatre, dance, and performance art. Sponsored by On the Boards in Seattle. 2009 - present.