Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Search articles, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations on theatre and performance. Includes some full-text articles and books.
Covers a variety of types of plays, including one-act plays, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama, and monologues from several time periods.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
A comprehensive bibliography of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
Literature Databases That Include Theatre
The resources below cover literature, although also include scholarship related to theatre.
Literature Online (LION)
Includes the Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature(ABELL).
References to articles in the fields of literature, drama, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
Humanities Databases That Include Theatre
The resources below broadly cover the humanities, and so also include scholarship related to theatre.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexes hundreds of communication and media journals with full-text for many articles.
Full-text access to hundreds of journals and indexes articles, fiction, book reviews, and reviews in the humanities.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive
A collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded.
A collection of major journals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes many major theatre journals, including Comparative Drama, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Shakespeare Quarterly, TDR: The Drama Review, and Theater, among others.
TLS, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Includes reviews, articles, and letters. 1902 - 2008.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.
Digital Theatre Plus
Streaming films of current leading British theater productions. Also includes some classical music performances and opera, as well as cast and director interviews.
Drama Online: The National Theatre Collection
Streaming video collection of performances from the National Theatre in London.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video of documentaries from a wide range of disciplines, including dance and theatre.
MIT Global Shakespeares
Online performances of Shakespeare's plays from around the globe.
Streaming video of contemporary theatre, dance, and performance art. Sponsored by On the Boards in Seattle. 2009 - present.
Theatre in Video
Hundreds of performances in many different genres. Also includes documentaries on playwrights and performers.
Image Collections (for costumes and scene design)
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.