Library use

Access to collections

Special user types

Library use policy

Connect from on and off-campus

The MIT Libraries' primary purpose is to support MIT's teaching, research, and scholarly activities. Access to some resources and services is reserved for the MIT community.

• Current MIT faculty, students and staff have priority access to physical, electronic, and staff resources.
• All users must abide by the Library use policy.

The Libraries provide limited in-person reference and telephone assistance to visitors:

• Help with the online catalog and referral to collections and services are available.
• Full reference service is provided only for Federal government depository collections.
• The Libraries do not provide in-depth research services to visitors.

Borrowing privileges

The MIT Libraries do not provide visitors with borrowing privileges, except for some special user types. Users in those categories can fill out the Borrowing Privileges Registration form.

Please note that only eligible users will be approved for borrowing privileges. Users with access to campus may use the Libraries resources on site, regardless of user type or affiliation, during business hours.

Document delivery and interlibrary lending

• Document Services provides loans and copies of MIT Libraries materials to libraries and organizations via OCLC's Interlibrary Loan system, in accordance with library policy.
• Visitors may order PDF copies of MIT Theses, technical reports, and working papers through the Distinctive collections request system. See Requesting materials for complete information.

Other local resources

• Your local public library will have an Interlibrary loan team who can obtain items from other Libraries for you.

• The Minuteman Library Network is a consortium of 42 libraries with 60 locations serving the communities of Metrowest Massachusetts.  If your local public library is part of the Minuteman network, your card grants you borrowing privileges at all member libraries, as well as access to the shared Digital Collection which includes ebooks, access to articles and databases, audiobooks and streaming video.

• The Boston Public Library standard membership card is available to all Massachusetts residents and allows regular borrowing privileges for physical collections from all branches and a Boston Public Library e-card provides physical borrowing privileges as well as access to computers, museum passes, exhibits and electronic resources, including reservations for electronic audio books and e-book downloads. 

Computer use:

• Priority for computer use is given to MIT users, except for government document depository access, which is made equally available to all.
• Visitors can use designated visitor computers for 2 hours by requesting a ticket at a library information desk. Visitors are allowed one ticket per day across all MIT Libraries.
• See the Library use policy for more information.

Electronic resources:

• Visit Search Our Collections - the Libraries' search platform
• Be aware that, due to licensing agreements, access to many electronic resources is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of MIT.

Wireless access:

For information on wireless access to MITnet, consult MIT Guest Wireless Network information.

Scanners

We have a variety of no-cost, self-service scanners available for visitor use. See our scanning guide for details.

Printers

We do not offer visitor printing. Other options include:

• Scan to email or save to a USB device
• Download to email
• Visitors may also use MIT CopyTech for printing needs

Please note: MIT Libraries do not have photocopiers.