LibGuides: Civil & Environmental Engineering: Home

Search Our Collections

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Research Articles & Reports

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers, or technical reports. In databases where there is no full text, use available links to redirect to items available through MIT subscriptions.

Compendex/Inspec
Article citations in all engineering fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields. 1884 - present.
Web of Science
Article citations from research in science, social science, engineering, art & humanities,1900 - present. Includes citation tracking.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Civil Engineering Database
Journal and conference articles & books published by the ASCE. 1970 - present.
Agricultural and Environmental Science
Journal & conference articles, reports, books & government publications covering environmental & pollution issues. 1981- present.
SciFinder
Comprehensive chemical information database. 1907 - present. Requires MIT identification. Must register before using the first time at http://libraries.mit.edu/cas-reg
TRID
Worldwide transportation research.
One Petro
Journal and conference articles on petroleum and from related societies like NACE, the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) and the Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)
Water Intelligence Online
Access to reference books, research reports, papers, and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater, and related environmental topics.
more...less...
Not licensed for MIT Lincoln Lab.

Books, handbooks, theses

Use these links to books, theses and other related publications to get started. Search our collections for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

Knovel
Scientific & engineering books.
Books24x7
eBooks on all aspects of engineering
Dissertations & Theses
1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.
DSpace at MIT
MIT research, including preprints, articles, technical reports, working papers, MIT student theses

Manufacturer catalogs

Check these manufacturer listings to get a better sense for what products are already on the market. You can also contact companies directly for information. Also see the Designing & Making Stuff guide

GlobalSpec: contains over 24,000 digitized catalogs that represent over 2.3 million products and over 183 million searchable product specs
Thomas Register: a comprehensive resource for finding information on suppliers of industrial products and services in North America

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Civil & Environmental Engineering: Home