LibGuides: Finding Chemical & Materials Properties: By Substance Type: Organic

Chemical & Materials Properties

General Resources:

By Material:

By Property:

By Substance:

Related Guides

Organic Substances

Online resources [MIT only]:

SciFinder
SciFinder is the most comprehensive chemical information database. This is a web-based product, but you need to register to access the database.
more...less...
Tip: Use "Explore Substances" to find a particular substance or group of substances by using a chemical name or CAS Registry Number. This feature is useful for:

Finding & verifying chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas, & other substance information

Obtaining calculated & experimental property data

Identifying commercial sources

Retrieving regulatory compliance information

Obtaining articles & patents that discuss the substance
Chemical Properties Handbook
Physical, thermodynamic, environmental, transport, safety, and health related properties for organic and inorganic chemicals. Handbook covers both organic (C1 to C28 compounds) and inorganic (Ag to Zn compounds) substances. All tables in this book are interactive, and contains live equations for easy calculation and plotting of the properties.
CHEMnetBASE (CRC)
Major chemical reference works from Chapman & Hall/CRC, including Combined Chemical Dictionary (as well as its subsidiary dictionaries) and Properties of Organic Compounds (both fully sub-structure searchable), as well as The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics; Polymers, A Property Database; and Properties of Organic Compounds.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Contains over 500,000 substances which included analytical reagents, carbohydrates, inorganic and organometallic compounds, natural products, organic compounds and drugs. Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables.
eEROS (Electronic Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis)
Contains a database of over 48000 reactions and around 3500 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (CRC)
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds and includes interactive tables.
Houben-Weyl: Methods of Organic Chemistry
Online version of print editions (edition 1,2,3 and E series) of Houben-Weyl’s critically evaluated synthetic methods. See also Science of Synthesis.
Knovel - Engineering and Scientific Handbooks [MIT only]
Database of searchable full text of many leading chemistry reference handbooks. Includes critical data on inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances. Features interactive tables and key properties, including physical, thermodynamic, and mechanical properties.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Classic chemistry reference with interactive tables.
Methods in Organic Synthesis (RSC)
An alert service covering the most important current developments in organic synthesis.
Natural Product Updates (RSC)
A database which provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals.
Organic Syntheses (Wiley/CambridgeSoft; needs ChemDraw plugin)
Annual collections of detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Requires plugin called "ChemDraw Pro" that works on PCs and Macs, but not UNIX machines.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Contains information on over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
Science of Synthesis: Houben–Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations
A critically evaluated resource of synthetic methods. The electronic version closely follows the outline of the print volumes, which will total 48 volumes once completed in 2009. IE is the preferred browser.

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian

Ye Li

Contact:

yel@mit.edu
Room 14S-202
617.253.9795

How can Ye help you?

Finding Chemical & Materials Properties: By Substance Type: Organic

Table of Contents

Related Guides

Organic Substances

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian