Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Student jobs at the MIT Libraries: Clerical jobs

Student workers in Acquisitions, Archives, and Interlibrary Borrowing & Lending assist with ordering, receiving and stamping materials, processing orders, editing records, evaluating reports, general clerical work or other special projects.

Your work may include:

  • Filing, photocopying, and shredding.
  • Database work with ordering and/or receiving materials.
  • Managing spreadsheets.
  • Assisting in projects related to digital library collections.
  • Unpacking boxes and sorting materials.
  • Retrieval and shipping.

Attention to detail is essential in all positions.

Acquisitions & Cataloging

About Acquisitions & Cataloging

  • We process newly acquired library materials for the shelf
  • We're located in 14E-210 (inside Hayden Library)

What you'll be doing:

  • Perform tasks associated with the ongoing acquisition and cataloging of print items
  • Opening news boxes of books and coding invoices for payment
  • Stamping and labeling new material
  • Special projects, as needed

The candidate must be physically able to lift and move books as well as stand for extended periods of time.

Starting wage: $10

Available hours: 5-10 hrs/wk, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, flexible.

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring

Archives

Department: Institute Archives and Special Collections (IASC) (Archives, 14N-118)

Starting wage: $11

Available hours: 5 hrs/wk, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring

Database Maintenance

About Database Maintenance

  • We're responsible for improving the integrity of data in the library catalog
  • We're located in 14E-210 (inside Hayden Library)

What you'll be doing:

  • Editing records identified by reports
  • Evaluating reports to identify items meriting further attention
  • Attention to detail is essential

Starting wage: $11

Available hours: 3-10 hrs/wk, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, flexible

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring

Department of Transportation (DOT) Liaison Support

About Department of Transportation (DOT) Liaison Support

The Department of Transportation Liaison helps DOT staff at the Volpe Center get books and articles for their work.

What you'll be doing:

  • Delivering materials between Barker Library and the U.S. DOT at 55 Broadway (Kendall Square)
  • Paging materials in the stacks primarily at Barker Library, but possibly also at Dewey, Hayden and Rotch Libraries
  • Scanning materials and emailing files
  • Updating spreadsheets and filling out forms

Starting wage: $11

Available hours: 2-3 hrs/wk, Monday and Thursday between 1pm-4pm

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring

Interlibrary Borrowing & Lending

About Interlibrary Borrowing & Lending (ILB & ILL)

  • We're MIT Libraries' Resource Sharing unit, which supports ILLiad/ILB and Borrow Direct
  • We obtain materials not owned by MIT to assist MIT users in their research and school work (ILB)
  • We provide MIT materials to non-MIT institutions: books, articles, MIT publications, and more (ILL)
  • We're located in 14-0551 (basement of Building 14)

What you'll be doing:

  • Retrieving and occasionally reshelving materials from the MIT libraries (primarily at Hayden)
  • Simple ILB request processing
  • Processing incoming and outgoing loan materials
  • Prepping books and articles for patrons
  • Receiving, handling, and sorting mail

What we're looking for:

  • Good communication skills, punctuality, and attention to details
  • You must commit to working the entire semester
  • Previous library experience is a plus

Starting wage: $12.50

Available hours: up to 2 hours a day Monday – Friday between 11 – 3 with the potential for additional hours on Tuesday

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring

Student Blogger (Marketing Team)

Do you love libraries, and have a knack for writing? MIT Libraries is looking for a student blogger to write short blog stories about your favorite library resources, and give tips to other MIT students on how to become a power user of the Libraries. 

What you'll be doing:

In this role you’ll work with the Libraries’ Marketing Team to suggest blog story ideas that will appeal to students (both undergraduate and graduate). You’ll research and write 2-4 blog posts a month that will appear on the Libraries’ News Blog. Creativity, and the ability to work independently to develop unique story ideas from any area of the Libraries (collections, services, classes, study locations, etc.) is encouraged. 

What we're looking for:

  • strong communication skills (verbal and written) – we may also ask you to provide original writing samples
  • an active interest in the Libraries and awareness of our full range of services
  • previous blogging/social media experience, and basic knowledge of WordPress is helpful

Starting wage: $12

Available hours: 4-6 hrs/wk, flexible; expect to attend 1 initial training session and 2-3 check-in meetings per term

Apply Now!

Not currently hiring