This is the "Home" page of the "Civil & Environmental Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil & Environmental Engineering  

A guide to library research tools for civil & environmental engineering.
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/civil Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Other pages in this guide

Manage Your References

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

 

Featuring

Cover Art
Water Resources in the Built Environment - Colin A. Booth and Susanne M. Charlesworth
Call Number: TC413.W375 2014
ISBN: 9780470670910
Publication Date: 2014
... develops an appreciation of the diverse, complex and current themes of the water resources debate across the built environment, urban development and management continuum.

Cover Art
Bridge system safety and redundancy - Michel Ghosn
Call Number: TE7.N275 no.776
ISBN: 9780309284080
Publication Date: 2014
This report develops a method to calibrate system factors that can be applied during the design and load capacity evaluation of highway bridges to account for bridge redundancy and system safety.

Cover Art
Reliability of Structures - Andrzej S. Nowak
Call Number: TA645.N64 2013
ISBN: 9780415675758
Publication Date: 2013 (2nd edition)
...enables both students and practising engineers to appreciate how to value and handle reliability as an important dimension of structural design.

Finding articles & research papers

Use these article databases to find citations to articles, conference papers or technical reports. Use the "Get this MIT - SFX" button to try to connect to the full text pdf if the full text is not available in the database.

  • Compendex/Inspec  Icon
    Article citations in all ENGINEERING fields, plus physics, electronics, robotics, and related fields.
  • Web of Science
    Article citations from research in ALL FIELDS. Includes CITATION TRACKING. Watch these videos to learn more:
  • Scopus
    Competitor to Web of Science. Article citations from research in ALL FIELDS and cited reference searching.
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Civil Engineering Database
    Articles, books, and other publications by the ASCE. 1970 - present.
  • Environmental Science Collection
    Journal & conference articles, reports, books & government publications with comprehensive coverage of ENVIRONMENTAL & POLLUTION issues. 1981- present.
  • SciFinder
    Comprehensive CHEMICAL information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers. 1907 - present.
    Requires MIT identification.
    Must register before using the first time at http://libraries.mit.edu/cas-reg
  • TRID
    TRID combines the records from TRB's TRANSPORTATION Research Information Services (TRIS) and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD). TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
  • One Petro
    Includes papers on PETROLEUM and from related societies like NACE, the Offshore Technology Conference (OTC) and the Society of Underwater Technology (SUT)

Books, handbooks, theses

Use these links to books, theses and other related publications to get started.  Search Barton, the MIT Libraries catalog, for a full list of books owned by the MIT Libraries.  Or use MIT's WorldCat to search library catalogs worldwide and place requests to borrow items.

  • Knovel
    Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
  • CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE
    Civil Engineering books
  • ASM Handbooks Online
    The ASM Failure Analysis Database features over 1000 case histories along with authoritative handbook information on failure mechanisms and analysis methods. The ASM Failure Analysis Database enables you to find specific information to help you quickly solve your own failure analysis or materials performance issues.
  • Books24x7
    eBooks on all aspects of engineering
  • Dissertations & Theses
    1997-present: full text for most dissertations.
    1861-present: selective full-text for dissertations prior to 1997. Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses.
  • DSpace at MIT
    Contains research products of MIT faculty, including preprints, articles, tech reports, working papers, theses, conf. papers, images, datasets & more

Civil & Environmental Engineering Librarian

Profile Image
Anne Graham
Contact Info
grahama@mit.edu
Barker Engineering Library (10-500)
(617) 253-7744
 

Need Help?

Ask Us if you have questions

 

Research Consultations: appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip