Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

10.28: Chemical/Biological Engineering Laboratory 

Last update: Sep 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/10-28  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Related web pages

Information Navigator (Get started? Search databases? Get the full text? Know if information is reliable?)

RefWorks (for organizing your citations and citing properly)

ChemBioDraw (for drawing chemical structures and biological pathways)

Chemical Engineering Research Guide

10.28 Stellar page

 

Vera Multi-Search

Find articles on your topic


 
 

Databases for scientific topics

Medline/PubMed (1966-present)

Definitive NCBI database for research in medicine and biosciences. Includes MEDLINE, other full-text resources, links to NCBI sequencing databases. Video tutorial (4:00)

SciFinder (1907-present, must register before using the first time)

  • Comprehensive chemical information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers. You can also search Medline using the SciFinder interface, combining detailed chemical information with medical literature.
  • Register first to access this database.

Web Of Knowledge/Web of Science (1973-present)

Index to high-impact science, social science, engineering, arts and humanities research journals. Includes cited reference searching and links to BIOSIS Previews.

BIOSIS Previews (1990-present)

Journals, conferences & reports in major biological fields including biomedicine, biochemistry, bioengineering & biophysics, ecology & environment.

Compendex (1884-present)

Find articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering. Video tutorial (3:37)

Google Scholar - make to work for you!


 

Electronic books

Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online Handbooks

Search for scientific & engineering information via an extensive collection of engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs. Just to mention few popular titles:

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Contains hundreds of background articles in all fields of chemical engineering and chemical industry.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology [4th edition]

Contains hundreds of articles on chemical substances, with a focus on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.

Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology

Find background information on polymer science.

See more e-books: http://libguides.mit.edu/ebooks.

You can always find individual books in Barton - both electronic and print!

 

Chemistry Librarian

Profile ImageErja Kajosalo
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Science Library
617-253-9795
Send Email

Subjects:
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering

 

Need Help?

Ask Us! if you have questions

Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help

Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.

 

Research Guides | MIT Libraries | Massachusetts Institute of Technology
webmaster@libraries.mit.edu

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

  Loading content... please wait