Related Guides
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Finding Information
Journal articles
- Compendex: covers all fields of engineering.
- include Inspec: covers physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology
- View the video tutorial on using Compendex/Inspec
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Collection (ESPM): covers articles on environmental & pollution issues
- Building Green Suite: information on green design, including information on a wide range of topics related to sustainable building
- Scopus: covers journals and conference proceedings across many disciplines, including engineering. Also see who has cited a paper.
- Web of Science: covers journals and conference proceedings across many disciplines, including engineering. Also see who has cited a paper.
- Watch these videos to learn more:
- Web of Science (3:10)
- Tracking a citation using Web of Science (3:47)
Technical Reports
Use these to find report numbers, then Ask Us! if we have them.
- Energy Citations Database - info
- ETDEWEB : Energy Technology Data Exchange World Energy Base - info
- NTIS
Patents
Books
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
Search library catalogs from around the world: MIT's WorldCat
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.
- Appropriate technology - Developing Countries
- Energy Development
- Renewable Energy Sources
- Solar Energy - Developing Countries
- Photovoltaic Power Generation
Electronic books, handbooks
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.
- Appropriate Technology Library: A full-text collection of over one thousand publications covering projects and technical information
- AT Sourcebook: index to publications
- Publications are on CD-ROMS in the Barker Library stacks, 6th Floor: T49.5.A86 2002
- Books 24x7: Full-text e-books in engineering, including topics like Sustainable Energy & Development
- World Bank e-Library
- Knovel: Engineering and Scientific Handbooks
- A full text collection of hundreds of handbooks and reference sources
Country Data & Analysis Databases
Regional Data & Statistics
Socio-Cultural Data & Statistics
Angie Locknar |
![]() Contact Info Barker Engineering Library (10-500) Hayden Library (14S-100) Phone: 617-253-9320 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Specialist |
![]() Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
