LibGuides: EC.711/EC.791/2.651: D-Lab: Energy: Home

Related Guides

Energy guide

Environment guide

Technical Reports

Patents

Standards

Manage your references:

Finding books

Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton

Search library catalogs from around the world: MIT's WorldCat

Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.

Appropriate technology - Developing Countries
Energy Development
Renewable Energy Sources
Solar Energy - Developing Countries
Photovoltaic Power Generation

Search for theses from other universities: Dissertations and theses

Electronic books, handbooks

Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.

Appropriate Technology Library and AT Sourcebook
For online access, try the Wayback Machine.
Also see Wikipedia: /ATSourcebook

The AT Sourcebook link takes you to an index of all the papers in the Appropriate Technology Library. The publications are found Barker Library on CD: T49.5.A86 2002

There is also a copy of the Appropriate Technology Sourcebook in D-Lab.
Field Guide to Appropriate Techology
Record in Barton connects you to full text PDF, or check out the copy in print.
World Bank e-Library
Knovel
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.

Finding articles

Compendex
You can also search Inspec with Compendex. Inspec covers all aspects of physics and EECS.
Web of Science/ Web of Knowledge
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
Scopus
Competitor to Web of Science. Includes all subjects and cited reference searching.

Finding technical reports

Use these databases to find reports. If there is no PDF attached to the citation, look for the report numbers, then Ask Us! if we have them in our collections.

osti.gov
DOE technical reports and other publications. Pull down menu and Advanced Search.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Contains PDFs of many reports. For better search capabilities, try NTIS.
NTIS
Primary resource for locating U.S. government-sponsored research reports & studies. Citations only, no full text.

Country data & statistics

Statista
Portal providing access to statistics from market researchers, trade associations, scientific publications, and government sources.
CIA World Factbook
OECD iLibrary
Includes World Energy Outlook reports and IEA (International Energy Agency) publications.
World Development Indicators Online
Statistical time-series data on development for countries and country groups worldwide. Includes social, economic, and environmental indicators. 1960 to present.
UNdata

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian

Ye Li

Contact:

yel@mit.edu
Room 14S-202
617.253.9795

How can Ye help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

EC.711/EC.791/2.651: D-Lab: Energy: Home