10-K filings20-F filingsAnnual reports to shareholdersExtracted financialsOther SEC filingsProspectuses & registration statementsProxy statements
Annual Reports Collection (paper reports)Compact D/SEC (aka Compact Disclosure)Compustat North America & Compustat GlobalDisclosure MicroficheDisclosure Select International Annual ReportsDisclosure Select Top CompaniesEDGAR (via the SEC website)Laser/D & Laser/D InternationalLexisNexis AcademicListing Statements of the New York Stock ExchangeMergent/Moody’s ManualsMoody’s International Annual Reports & Moody's Global Annual ReportsSEC-FileStandard & Poor’s Stock ReportsThomson One
This is the "Overview" page of the "Corporate Reports & SEC Filings at MIT" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Corporate Reports & SEC Filings at MIT  

Annual reports, Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) filings (including 10Ks), and other sources of financial and textual information on public companies.
Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mit.edu/corpreports Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Related guides

Explore these sites for additional resources available through MIT Libraries:

 

Overview

The Corporate Reports Collection at MIT Dewey Library consists of annual reports, Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) filings (including 10Ks), and other sources of financial and textual information on public companies spanning over 150 years. Our collection includes a variety of sources in paper, electronic, and microfiche formats. However, there is no single index to all of the reports in our collection. Depending on your research goals, you may need to consult several sources.

For current annual reports & SEC filings, start with LexisNexis.  Also, public companies frequently post recent annual reports and SEC filings on their websites (look for an "Investor Relations" or similar link).

For historical reports and financial data, use this research guide to determine if the reports you need might be available in our collection:

  • use the Types of Reports tab to discover the sources in our collection and their dates of coverage
  • use the Sources A-to-Z tab for instructions and details about each individual source
  • the Useful Websites tab suggests additional sources of help for corporate report researchers
  • the Name Changes tab can help uncover prior names of companies over the years
 

Introduction to corporate reports

Publicly-held companies with stock traded on U.S. exchanges publish annual reports and submit filings to the U.S Securities Exchange Commission (SEC).

Annual Reports (also known as Annual Reports to Shareholders, or "Glossy" Annual Reports) are published for the benefit of shareholders and are not required by the SEC.  While the financial information in annual reports is audited, the narrative portions are not. Thus, annual reports may also be used by companies as public relations tools and as a means for communicating company operations in a positive light.

SEC filings are required by law and are considered the most definitive and complete source of essential company information, requiring companies to disclose specific details of securities offerings and operations. Various filings are required of companies depending on the information they are required to disclose. One such SEC filing, Form 10-K, is required annually from US public companies and contains extended financials and other details about company operations.

Other filings included in our collection may provide further details about a company or provide financials for years where no annual report or 10-K filing is available. Some sources in our collection are produced by third party publishers based on financials extracted from SEC filings.

Subject expert

Alex Caracuzzo
Contact Info
MIT Dewey Library, Building E53-100
617-253-5670
Send Email
 

Access

Access to some annual reports products, including CD-ROM products, is available to current MIT users and others with library borrowing priveleges, including Privilege Card holders, BLC members, and other select special user categories. Access to certain online and print reports is available only to current MIT community members. Please refer to the Sources page for more information on accessing a particular source.

See Library Services for Outside Users for more information about obtaining borrowing privileges.

 

Assistance

Additional help and research assistance is available to members of the MIT community. Either stop by the Dewey Library, make an appointment (MIT only) with the appropriate subject librarian, or submit a question electronically (MIT only).

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip