Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research and advocacy organizations
Introduction to research
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Call Number: Dewey Library: reference (2010) & stacks (earlier editions), KF240.C54
Publication Date: 2010-05-28
Principles of Legal Research by
Call Number: Dewey Library, KF240.O378 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-26
Access Controlled by
Publication Date: 2010-04-16
Country profiles of internet censorship around the world.
Digital Crossroads by
Publication Date: 2013-07-05
A thoroughly updated, comprehensive, and accessible guide to U.S. telecommunications law and policy
Finding news and policy articles
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Use this to find social science papers from a broad range of fields. Hint: you can search this with Web of Science, linked below, to get both technical & policy papers.
Up-to-the-minute news articles from newspapers and other sources, from major national & international sources.
SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
Preprint and working paper server that includes a variety of policy and law papers.
Like the physics preprint repository arXiv, SocArXiv collects preprints, but in the social sciences. Includes law & policy articles. A non-profit open access competitor to SSRN, which is now owned by Elsevier.
General database for science & social science articles. Restrict to "reviews" to find review articles.
Finding engineering articles and information
Use these databases to find technical papers.
All fields of engineering, plus physics, electronics, control, and more. Helpful if you need technical papers. Hint: add the keyword 'review' to your search to see if there are literature reviews on your subject.
Web of Science/ Web of Knowledge
High impact journal articles in all fields of science; includes computer science. Includes citation tracking. Hint: select "review" under document types to get literature reviews. Can also search this with the Social Science Citation Index, linked above.
Good for cutting edge telecommunications technology papers; most IEEE publications are also indexed in Compendex.
Finding case law and Congressional info
Use this to find caselaw, as well as articles
A Westlaw terminal is also available in Dewey Library; a password is also available. Contact me for more information.
Gives committee hearings and legislative histories, as well as profiles of members of Congress.
Statistics & governmental information
National Security Archive
Primary documents obtained via FOIA that are central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes older sources; good for historical research into eg NSA policy.
Statistics and studies about a wide variety of topics, including internet penetration, data breaches, etc. Good for background.
Technology market research; good for background on market penetration.