Journal Articles
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsCitations, abstracts, and indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. 1975 to present
- JSTOR Scholarly Journal ArchiveA collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded.
- PAIS InternationalThis database consists of indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. 1972 to present
- PAIS ArchiveThis database consists of indexing and abstracting of articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. 1915-1976
- ScopusArticles, books, reports, and patents in science, engineering, social science, and arts and humanities, particularly published after 1995. Includes citation features and tools to analyze authors and journals.
- Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science]Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art and humanities research journals, plus cited reference searches. 1956 to present
- SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkWorking papers (fulltext or abstracts) for research in economics, management, and other social sciences. 1993 to present
- Air University Library Index to Military PeriodicalsIndex of articles and news items from military and aeronautical journals.
- America: History and LifeKey resource covering US and Canadian history, prehistory to present. Indexes and abstracts articles, book reviews, essay collections, dissertations, and media. For a mobile version of the search interface, go to http://libraries.mit.edu/get/m-ebsco and choose this database from the list.
- Historical AbstractsResource covering world history (excluding US and Canada), 1450 to present. Indexes and abstracts articles, books, essay collections, dissertations, and media. For a mobile version of the search interface, go to http://libraries.mit.edu/get/m-ebsco and choose this database from the list.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesIndexes books, journal articles, and book chapters about Asian studies in the humanities and the social sciences in English and other languages. 1971 to present
- China Academic Journals -- Series G: Politics / Military affairs / LawIndexing and fulltext content of articles in scholarly Chinese-language journals in political science, military affairs, and law. 1994 to present
News
- LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times.
- FactivaNews articles and business information from over 8000 sources.
- World News ConnectionWorld News Connection is the successor database to the printed Daily Reports, published by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service. WNC contains full text and summaries of foreign newspaper and periodical articles and radio and television broadcasts in English translation. It's an essential source for following political, socioeconomic, technical, and environmental issues and events in non-U.S. media. 1995 to present
- Washington Post Historical ArchiveHistorical file of the Washington Post. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded. 1877-1994
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. 1990 to present
World Politics
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics (3rd ed., 2009)
- Political Handbook of the World2010 to present
- Dictionary of Political Biography (2009)
- Oxford Companion to Politics of the World (2nd ed., 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Political Science (5v., 2011)
- Armed Conflict DatabaseThe authoritative source for facts, background, and in-depth analysis of over 70 armed conflicts worldwide, provided by the International Institute for Strategic Studies. 1997 to present
- Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence
- RefworldA database of documents and reports related to refugee status, from the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).
- Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaA survey of modern Asia, covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics. 6v, 2003.
- Encyclopedia of Modern ChinaInformation about the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of China from the beginning of the 19th century to present day. 4v, 2009.
- Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict: A Political, Social, and Military HistoryCovers all aspects of the Arab-Israeli relationship from biblical times to the present, with an emphasis on the era beginning with World War I. The 4th volume includes 168 primary source documents. 4v, 2008.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaCovers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and United Nations involvement in the region. 2nd ed., 4v, 2004.
- Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts (5v., 2010)
- Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History (5v., 2007)
- Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources (2007)
- Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources (2007)
- Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources (2006)
Political Philosophy
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy (2nd ed., 2005)Over 2000 articles about all areas of philosophy and the ideas of philosophers from antiquity to the present.
- Oxford Scholarship Online -- Philosophy CollectionAccess to full text of Oxford University Press publications in philosophy.
- Past MastersFull-text collections of philosophical and historical scientific books.
Data and Statistics
- Harvard-MIT Data CenterMIT repository for numeric datasets. Houses data from ICPSR, data produced by MIT faculty, and others. Enables online subsetting and data analysis.
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchWorld's largest archive of digital social science data. Search and browse for data and related publications. Provides training in data analysis.
- Polling the NationsDatabase of questions from public opinion polls around the world. Search question text and get poll results. 1986 to present
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchArchive of data from public opinion surveys. Download data from their catalog or search IPoll, their question-level database of survey results.
- Social ExplorerVisually displays the demographic changes that have occurred in the US since 1790 from country through tract level.
- EurostatStatistical Office of the European Union. Data and publications contain harmonized data from EU member countries. 1960 to present
American Government
- Vital Statistics on American PoliticsBasic statistical information on American government and politics, including elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, foreign and military policy, media, federalism, and social and economic policy. 2009/2010 to present
- Oxford Guide to the United States Government (2002)
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History (7v., 2010)
- Federal Digital System (FDsys)FDsys provides free online access to official Federal government publications.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsThe finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive bibliographic records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those available online.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the official web portal for U.S. government information and services
- Compilation of Presidential DocumentsThe official publication of presidential statements, messages, remarks, and other materials released by the White House Press Secretary. 1993 to present.
- CQ ResearcherOverview of a contentious American social or political issue each week. 1991 to present.
- Guide to U.S. Elections (6th ed., 2010)
- Voter Turnout in the United States 1788-2009 (2010)
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America (4v., 2010)
- Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture (2009)
Congress and the Legislative Process
- ProQuest Congressional [formerly LexisNexis Congressional]Indexing and abstracts for U.S. congressional publications. Includes the full text of reports, bills, public laws, and legislative histories and links to selected fulltext documents, committee prints, and congressional hearings testimony. Also contains information on members of Congress, campaign financial data, congressional voting records, and other information about the legislative process. 1789 to present for indexing, mid-1980s to present for full text.
- ThomasLegislative information from the Library of Congress
- CQ AlmanacAnnual reference covering the people, elections, legislation, and controversies in the U. S. Congress. 1945 to present
- Congress and the NationChronicles congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies. v.12 (2005-2008)
- Legislative SourcebookLaw Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
Security Studies
- The Military BalanceThe Military Balance is the annual assessment of the military capabilities and defense economics of 170 countries world-wide, produced annually by the IISS. 1961 to present
- Digital National Security ArchiveThe Digital National Security Archive is a collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 80,000 declassified documents - totalling more than 500,000 pages - have been gathered through use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- Armed Conflict DatabaseThe authoritative source for facts, background, and in-depth analysis of over 70 armed conflicts worldwide, provided by the International Institute for Strategic Studies. 1997 - present.
- Adelphi seriesno.1 (1961) to present
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- Where to Find Military InformationThe Naval Postgraduate School Library's guide to the field
Dissertations
- Dissertations & ThesesIndexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861 to present. Full text for most dissertations 1997 to present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
- DSpace at MITContains research products of MIT faculty, including preprints, articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, conference papers, images, datasets and more.
Subject Expert
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.


Loading...
