Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Architecture and Art: History, Theory, & Criticism: Art Websites and Digital Collections

Guide to resources for the HTC and AKPIA programs

A-C

American Archive of Public Broadcasting: The Library of Congress and The Library of Congress and WGBH collaborated to digitize approximately 40,000 hours of programs selected by more than 100 public broadcasting stations throughout the nation spanning 1940s to the 21st century for scholars, researchers, educators, students, and the general public to access.

Archives of American Art collections

Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus Digital Library)

Artcyclopedia

arthist (H-Net information network for art history)

arthistoricum.net

Art History Resources on the Web

Art in America guide (museums/galleries/artists)

Artists’ Choice: Recognizing Women Artists: Artsy's selection of underrepresented and rising women artists spotlight. 

ARTtheses database

ArtStor public collectionsOffering over a million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partnered museums. Free viewing and downloading of items in these collections are available without a subscription or login required.

AskART.com

Avalanche Magazine Index

British Art History Resources (Walpole Society)

CAMEO (Conservation & Art Materials Encyclopedia Online): Developed by the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

Catalogues Raisonnés database (IFAR): International Foundation for Art Research.

Census of Antique Works known in the Renaissance

Center for Jewish Art (Hebrew Univ.)

Ivy Plus Digital Collections

Latin American and Caribbean Contemporary Web Archive

M-W

Met Museum Exhibitions 1870-2012

Modern African Art (reading list)

Modern Art Iraq Archive: This project documents Iraq’s modern artistic heritage with images art work some that are now lost, from the Iraqi Museum of Modern Art in Baghdad, as well as publications, exhibition catalogs, and personal documentation.

MoMA Exhibition History

MoMA Exhibition History (chronology)

Montias Database of 17th Century Dutch Inventories

Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages

Moving Image Archive: Uploaded by Archive users, this digital video library spans classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. There is near-unrestricted access.

Multilingual Glossary for Art Librarians

Museum with No Frontiers This portal is a gateway to the virtual museum and virtual exhibitions, thematic galleries and a database with complete listings (metadata and images) which provide access to artwork and artifacts from various museums and essays. Good resource for Islamic Art, Baroque Art, and Carpets.

Nazi-Era Cultural Property (Nat'l. Archives)

Nazi-Era Provenance Internet Portal

Print catalogues raisonnés database

Provenance guide (IFAR)International Foundation for Art Research.

Provenance research (Getty)

Quilt Index

State Museums of Berlin This resource is the portals to all the major museums in that Berlin and their digitized objects (pictures, sculptures, books, sound recordings, photographs and more), by way of library catalogues, archival finding aids, etc.

U.S. Govt. Fine Arts Collection

Video Data Bank Essays: PDFs of essays commissioned by the Video Data Bank on the subject of video art and artists, as well as a range of essays about and videos by individual artists’ work.

VIRCONA (Native North American visual artists database)

WAAND (Women Artists Archives National Directory)