Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Charles J. Connick Stained Glass Foundation Collection
Archival and original artwork produced by Charles J. Connick (1875-1945) and Associates until 1986. Connick was a preeminent American stained glass artist.
Intrinsic Attributes of Built Form Assemblage
Digitized images from the teaching, research, and projects of MIT Professor Maurice K Smith. Archive supported by an initial grant in memory of William and Miriam Meehan.
Perceptual Form of the City
Landmark research study, 1954-1959, led by Professors Kevin Lynch and Gygory Kepes, which addressed the legibility and imageability of the American city in terms of an individual's perception of the urban landscape. Collection includes digitized photographs and records from the Boston phase of the project.
Visual Collections (general)
Slide, digital, and photographic collections related to: fine and applied art and media, architecture, urban history, city planning, building technology, Islamic architecture and urbanism, photography, landscape and environmental design, anthropology, and archaeology.
Special collections related to Boston urban history
Visual Collections (digital)
Images in support of teaching and research in Architecture, Urban Planning and Art/Visual Culture, including:
The Center for Advanced Visual Studies (CAVS) was founded by Hungarian artist and MIT Institute Professor György Kepes in 1967. For over 40 years, the Center played a leading role in arts at the intersection with technology.
Aga Khan Documentation Center (AKDC)
Supporting research, scholarship, and conservation of art, architecture, urbanism, and landscape design in Muslim societies. Collections include a variety of resources including photographs, images, maps, documents, and more.