Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Energy databases: science & technology
Leads to articles, conference papers and more in engineering, physics, and technical energy topics
Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, 1900 - present. Covers many aspects of energy topics. Also used for tracking citations.
Comprehensive chemical information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers. 1907 - present. You must register at http://libraries.mit.edu/cas-reg before using the first time.
Full-text from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists
One Petro [SPE] eLibrary]
Technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry from the Society of Petroleum Engineers. 1925 - present.
Energy databases: architecture
Energy data and statistics
IEA (International Energy Agency) databases
Contains data and reports on power/electricity sectors worldwide, including: thermal, wind, solar, hydro, nuclear, smart grid, geothermal, bio, and ocean.
Oil and Gas eTrack
Data and reports on the oil & gas industry sectors worldwide. Contains numerous statistical databases; detailed information on companies, deals, and key events; plus in-depth industry research.
More statistical databases
UNdata Energy Statistics Database
Download energy data from statistical agencies throughout the United Nations. Series on energy cover topics such as consumption, exports, imports, and production.
UDI world electric power plants data base
Global inventory of electric power generating units. Contains design data for plants of all sizes and technologies operated by regulated utilities, private power companies, and industrial autoproducers (captive power). 2017 data now in Dataverse
Department of Energy Data Explorer (DDE)
Collections of numeric files, figures and data plots, multimedia and images, computer simulations, specialized databases, and interactive data maps.
Energy databases: news and policy
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Manage your references
Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:
Energy technical reports
Use these to find report numbers, then complete the Library Storage Annex form to see if we have them.
U.S. government-sponsored research reports & studies.
Contains PDFs of many reports. For better search capabilities, try NTIS.