Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other links of interest
A wiki for international development, sustainability, and appropriate technology. Includes sections on medical devices, transport, water, and construction (among others).
Search the MIT Libraries catalog: Barton
Search library catalogs from around the world: MIT's WorldCat
Tip: Finding a proper subject heading can be a useful way to find information. Try a subject search to find books on a topic. The following list offers several examples of subjects used in our catalog.
- Appropriate technology - Developing Countries
- Energy Development
- Renewable Energy Sources
- Solar Energy - Developing Countries
- Photovoltaic Power Generation
Search for theses from other universities: Dissertations and theses
Electronic books, handbooks
Selected resources that you may find useful. This is NOT a comprehensive list.
You can also search Inspec with Compendex. Inspec covers all aspects of physics and EECS.
Web of Science/ Web of Knowledge
High impact journal articles in all fields. Includes citation tracking.
Competitor to Web of Science. Includes all subjects and cited reference searching.
Finding technical reports
Use these databases to find reports. If there is no PDF attached to the citation, look for the report numbers, then Ask Us! if we have them in our collections.
DOE technical reports and other publications. Pull down menu and Advanced Search.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Contains PDFs of many reports. For better search capabilities, try NTIS.
Primary resource for locating U.S. government-sponsored research reports & studies. Citations only, no full text.
Country data & statistics
Portal providing access to statistics from market researchers, trade associations, scientific publications, and government sources.
Includes World Energy Outlook reports and IEA (International Energy Agency) publications.
World Development Indicators Online
Statistical time-series data on development for countries and country groups worldwide. Includes social, economic, and environmental indicators. 1960 to present.
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.