Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- The MIT Institute Archives and Special Collections have posted a list of books about MIT.
- Try browsing the library stacks and reference sections around the call number T171.M42 for MIT reports, bulletins, and other publications.
- Try a "Subject begins with" search in Barton for "Massachusetts Institute of Technology" and then browse the different subject headings about MIT. (Don't forget that you can limit by year if you do a Barton advanced search.)
- Google Books
is also a great place to look for historical texts. The site offers
many thousands of searchable books digitized by Google in collaboration
with libraries and publishers.
MIT Reports to the President
A compilation of the annual reports of academic and administrative units of the Institute summarizing the year’s accomplishments and introducing future plans.
MIT Bulletin Archive, 1998-present
Electronic versions of the Course Catalog and Subject Descriptions from 1998 to the present are available from the MIT Bulletin Archive.
MIT Course Catalogues, 1865-1993
The MIT Course Catalogue, also referred to as the MIT Bulletin and the MIT Course Catalog, is a rich source of information on the courses and programs that have made the Massachusetts Institute of Technology the major institution it is today.
1899-present. Hayden Library - Humanities Journals LJ.T257. There's an index to the Tech Review in the MIT Archives.
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Collection
Great source for tracking citations in aerospace and many related fields, including historical reports. Formerly known as Aerospace and High Technology Database. 1962-present.
National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) Archive
The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) was a federal agency created in 1915; it was the precursor to NASA. Contains full text of all NACA reports from 1917-1958.
Find articles, conference papers, and reports in all fields of engineering. 1884 - present.
Links to many resources in the literature of aeronautics.
A full-text scholarly journal archive, back to vol. 1, issue 1, in many fields.
Indexing, abstracting, and some links to full-text for many general interest magazines, in both Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890 - 1982) and Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983 to present). Great source for 20th-century historical primary sources.
Contemporary Newspapers and Periodicals
Digital National Security Archive (1945-present)
A collection of primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. More than 35,000 declassified documents have been gathered through use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
Full-text archive of historical legal and governmental information, including world constitutions, treaties, Congressional Record, Presidential papers, and Foreign Relations of the United States.
Libguide: Congressional Publications
This guide describes how to find U.S. Congressional publications at the MIT Libraries and beyond.
Libguide: Government Information
This guide describes how to find U.S. government information in the MIT Libraries.