Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

March 4: Scientists, Students, and Society: Newspaper Clippings

Newspaper Articles

List of articles about March 4th

 

From the collection: MIT. Social Action Coordinating Committee Records, AC 349, box 1, folder "Clippings, March 4, 1969". Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Institute Archives and Special Collections, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

 

The Boston Globe

Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN)

  • Kenyon, Richard L. “Scientists against war: The research strike is not likely to bring an end to war soon, but such demonstration might have an effect.” C&EN, 1969 February 3.
  • “Research Strike: Opposed, Ignored.” C&EN, 1969 March 10.
  • “Letters: MIT strike.” C&EN, 1969 April 7.
  • “War and conscience.” C&EN, 1969 April 14.

The Christian Science Monitor

  • Charters, Gillian. “MIT panels hit military stress.” The Christian Science Monitor, 1969.
  • “Campus protests against military influence spread.” The Christian Science Monitor, 1969 March 1.

The Harvard Crimson                  

  • “M.I.T. Research Will Be Stopped In 1-Day Protest.” The Harvard Crimson, 1969 January 24.
  • “M.I.T. Research Will Be Stopped In 1-Day Protest.” The Harvard Crimson, 1969 January 29.
  • “Harvard Ignores Protest at M.I.T.” The Harvard Crimson, 1969 February 10.
  • “Grads Will Join Research Strike.” The Harvard Crimson, 1969 February 13.
  • “When Science Says ‘No’ to War.” The Harvard Crimson, 1969 March 4, p. 3.
  • Advertisement listing participants in March 4, 1969 protest. The Harvard Crimson, 1969 March 4, p. 4

The New York Times

Science

Scientific Research

  • “Faculty, students demand research options.” Scientific Research, 1969 March 3.

The Tech

Contact the Institute Archives & Special Collections (IASC)

For all reference requests, please use the form Ask the Archives.

MIT Institute Archives and Special Collections reading room
IASC reading room

Location:
Building 14N-118
In the Hayden Library, 160 Memorial Drive

Mailing address:
Building 14N-118
77 Massachusetts Ave
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307 USA

E-mail: mithistory@mit.edu
Telephone: 617.253.5136
Fax: 617.258.7305