LibGuides: 21W.011: Rhetoric and Contemporary Issues: Contemporary Issues

Find resources

Find a publication

Find a database

Find More Information

CQ Researcher
Gives overview of controversial US topics
Statista
Statistics on a wide variety of topics

Films

Kanopy
Streaming video service with documentary and feature films from producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, New Day Films, Media Education, California Newsreel, PBS and others.
Filmakers Library Online
Streaming video collection of documentaries in many different subjects.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Streaming video service with documentary, instructional, and feature films from producers such as BBC, Documentary Educational Resources (DER), Icarus, PBS, and Sony Pictures Classics.

Other Useful Guides

Manage Your References

Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.

Start Your Research

Search our Collections
Start with the MIT libraries' mega search. This contains the libraries full collection of books, full text articles, government. documents, and more. PRO TIP: For a more comprehensive search, click "expand beyond MIT collections" button at upper left of results to see many more articles which can be ordered via inter-library borrowing.

Quick search

Google Scholar is great when you don't know the right search terms, or want to search citations

-> To get the full text of articles not in our collection, request through Interlibrary Borrowing

News

MIT Libraries has direct subscriptions to The New York Times, the Financial Times, and The Wall Street Journal

Mainstream News Databases

Global Newsstream
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources include newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni, formerly Lexis Nexis Academic, provides access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources, including the New York Times. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Pressreader
Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers in full-color, full-page format. For use online or as an app. Current three months only..

More News Sources

Alternative Press Index
Indexes 300 alternative, radical, and left publications covering political, economic, social and cultural issues. 1991 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, journals and magazines published by ethnic and minority presses. 1990 - present.
News Library Research Guide
For all MIT news sources, and links to historical newspapers
Allsides
See issues and political news with news bias revealed. Non-partisan, crowd-sourced technology shows stories from left, right, and center perspectives.

Traditional Reference Sources

Britannica Online
Encyclopedia covering a wide variety of subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Specialized online encyclopedias covering a variety of topics
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries and handbooks from many different fields

Humanities Librarian

Tina Chan

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

tinachan@mit.edu

617-715-5160

More ways to get help

If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Order books from other libraries

Articles you need not at MIT?

Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.

21W.011: Rhetoric and Contemporary Issues: Contemporary Issues

Find resources

Find More Information

Films

Other Useful Guides

News

Countries

History

Manage Your References

Start Your Research

Quick search

Google Scholar is great when you don't know the right search terms, or want to search citations

News

Traditional Reference Sources

Humanities Librarian

More ways to get help

Order books from other libraries

Articles you need not at MIT?