LibGuides: Electrical Engineering & Computer Science: Finding papers and books in EECS

On this guide

Getting started with research in EECS

Slides for "Doing library research in EECS"
Slides for a short class in getting started with EECS library research, covering the basics of where to search and other considerations (July 2020)
Slides for Fall 2022 EECS orientation

Overleaf at MIT

Overleaf is an online LaTeX and Rich Text collaborative writing and publishing tool.

Register for an MIT Overleaf Pro+ account

See our Overleaf Guide for more info.

Related guides

Other services

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Find articles and proceedings

Use these databases to find citations to journal articles and conference proceedings in electrical engineering, computer science, and related disciplines.

Inspec
Premier citation database for electrical engineering and computer science
Coverage: 1886-present
Compendex
Top engineering database
Coverage: 1884-present
Web of Science
General science database
Coverage: 1900-present
Tells you how many times an article has been cited, and who has cited it
IEEE Xplore
Full text of IEEE journal and conference proceedings articles, and more
ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal and conference proceedings articles published by the ACM
SPIE Digital Library
Full-text electronic books, journal and conference articles in optics, photonics, and imaging

Find dissertations and theses

Proquest Dissertations
Indexes dissertations & theses from schools in the US & globally; full text 1997-present
DSpace@MIT
MIT’s institutional repository
Includes Open Access papers by MIT faculty and over 14,000 MIT theses

Find e-books

All e-books that the MIT Libraries purchases are available in the library's Barton catalog -- find books by title, author or keyword. You can also browse collections of e-books directly by going to the packages listed below.

O'Reilly
Full text of books published by O’Reilly (formerly known as Safari). To sign in, choose "institution not listed" and then enter your MIT email address. O'Reilly only allows downloading books through their mobile app. To download a book, install the app (https://www.oreilly.com/online-learning/apps.html) and then enter your MIT email address to sign in.
ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE
Electrical engineering e-books from CRCnetBASE
Knovel
Full text reference materials on technical topics
Springer E-books
Full text of electronic books published by Springer
IEEE Xplore E-books
E-books available via the IEEE Xplore interface
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Full-text 50-100 page "lectures" on technical topics, including many cutting edge areas in EECS.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics engineering
A major overview reference for topics in EE

Other resources

MIT Crosslinks
A website with resources for studying key concepts in MIT classes

Librarian for Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, IDSS, and Mathematics

Phoebe Ayers

Contact:

psayers@mit.edu
Room 10-500
617.253.4442

How can Phoebe help you?

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.