LibGuides: Technology & Policy Program: Library Resources

Research Guides

For more databases and resources, try these research guides:

See all MIT Libraries Research Guides by Subject

Find by name

Find publications by title

Find databases by name

News

Global Newsstream
Over 2500 US and international news sources. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Factiva
30,000 newspapers and other news sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)
Nexis Uni
Access to the full-text of many news, business, and legal resources. Coverage: 1980-current (depending on title)

For more, see News research guide

Energywire
Newsletter geared for tracking environmental and energy action in Congress; covers hearings, markups, bill introductions, floor actions, positions of key legislators, stakeholders and more; 2013+
Environment and Energy Daily
American news organization covering energy, environmental policy, climate change, markets and science.

Access to Harvard College Libraries

Harvard College Library access and borrowing card

Manage your references

Use these tools to help you organize and cite your references:

Finding Journal Articles

Getting started:

Search our Collections - Start with a megasearch of the Libraries' books and other collections, plus a large article index. Remember to sign in and click "Expand Search Beyond MIT Collections" for best results

Google Scholar - Free resource, link to MIT Libraries for full text and cited references

Also try:

Web of Science - Top-tier peer reviewed journals in engineering, social science and management topics
EBSCO Social Science Databases - Searches Business Source Complete, Econlit, Academic Search Complete, Political Science Complete, Environment Index, Agricola, Anthropology Plus, Gender Studies Abstracts, Urban Studies Abstracts, LGBTQ+ Source and Education Source
ABI/Inform - Find articles from major business publications and trade publications
Compendex - Covers engineering research journals. Also includes Inspec, for electronics, computing, robotics research
Agricultural and Environmental Science Collection - Scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Environment Index - Indexes papers in energy and environmental policy, 1973 to present.

Selected Research Resources

Companies

Orbis - Information on public and private companies worldwide. Research individual companies, or screen for companies meeting certain financial, geographic or operating criteria.
D&B Hoovers - Directory of 20+ million U.S. and international companies. Includes latest news and analysts reports.

Countries

EIU Country Intelligence - 200+ countries
EMIS - 70+ market countries, vast information from news to economic statistics and market outlooks

US Government Information

Proquest Congressional - Comprehensive collection of congressional documents from 1789 to the present
Heinonline - Government and historical documents including treaties, constitutions, law journals, world trials, classic treatises, congressional documents, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more
Congressional Publications Library Guide

Industries

Fitch Connect - Industry sector, economic, political and company research on various countries. Includes political and economic risk analysis, and regulatory reports
IBISWorld Industry Reports - US, China, some global

Market research

Theses

Dissertations and Theses - full text 1997 - present; abstracts from 1861 - present
MIT Theses - Digitized collection of recent MIT theses

Researching Policy

Congressional Research Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS), a federal legislative branch agency located within the Library of Congress, serves as shared staff exclusively to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.
CQ Researcher
Original, authoritative reports on newsworthy social and political issues covering topics in public policy, law, civil liberties, international affairs, economics, health, education, the environment, technology, and more
Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports - UPenn
Think Tank Search - Harvard Kennedy School Library

Congressional Information

ProQuest Congressional
Indexing, abstracts, and full text of Congressional documents, 1700s to present.
HeinOnline
Collection of US Congressional documents, 1700s to present.
CQ Almanac
Annual surveys of congressional activities, 1945 (79th Congress) to 2020 (116th). This resource has been discontinued by the publisher.
CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly)
Weekly magazine covering Congress, 1983 (98th Congress), to present.
Congress and the Nation
Chronicles congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies, from 1945.
National Journal
Daily magazine covering US government and politics. For a personal login to access all features, email our sales rep Jamie Lance: jlance@nationaljournal.com.

Librarian for Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, IDSS, and Mathematics

Phoebe Ayers

Contact:

psayers@mit.edu
Room 10-500
617.253.4442

How can Phoebe help you?

Articles you need not at MIT?

Use the Interlibrary Borrowing Service to order articles and other items not available at MIT.

Suggest a purchase

Suggest a purchase
Let us know about materials needed to support online learning and remote work at MIT.