DDC Reading Room Policies and Procedures: Reference Desk Tasks

The reading room generally opens to users at 10 am, begin opening tasks around 9:30. Staff assigned to Desk 1 and Desk 2 should work together to complete all opening tasks.

Reading Room

• Dust tables as necessary; straighten chairs, tables and lamps as necessary.
• Check that each table has 3 decent-size, sharpened pencils.
• Turn on Reading Room lights (by staff door).
• Turn on locker alcove lights (next to entrance door).
• Open blinds on door and sidelight at 10am (or opening time).

Maihaugen Gallery

• Open gallery by 10 am.
• Deactivate gallery alarm.
• Turn on light, set lights to setting 3.
• Turn on digital display and speaker if necessary.
• Fold case covers and place in box in reading room.
• Unlock hall-way door and prop open. 

Aeon Request System

• Check the Aeon appointments tab to find out who is expected for the day.
• Make sure all requested items for the day are "On Hold in Reading Room."

Collections Materials

• If needed, retrieve materials from ASC prior to requesting user's arrival.
• Screen any materials in the "Needs Staff Review" queue. Screening duties are currently assigned to Processing Team members.
• Work with reference team to check in HD delivery.

Assisting Users

Answering Questions

• Answer the phone as needed. Direct users to Ask Distinctive Collections webform or distinctive-collections@mit.edu email. 

• Please record all walk-in or phone call reference transactions in the Ref Analytics Reference dataset. [ Add Reference Transaction ].

Serving Materials

• Retrieve and return materials to behind the grate. 
• Provide book wedges and weights when needed.

• At the end of your shift, please record any reference collection or subject file use and refile materials. [ Statistics Entry Form ] 

Security Tasks

Request System Tasks 

• Clear users by checking a photo ID.
• Check users in and out. Set users to away when they temporarily leave the Reading Room (e.g. for a bathroom break or lunch).
• Check materials in and out. Be sure to check if materials are going back on hold or can be refiled when checking materials in.

Physical Security

• One person must stay on the desk at all times there are any users in the reading room.
• Escort visitors though space. Call staff for assistance when needed.

Like most limited-access reading rooms, the entrance door is kept locked at all times. Visitors must use the doorbell and be buzzed in by staff. Items do not circulate or leave the room. A security camera is in use at all times. DDC spaces are also secured with a unique door key and alarm systems for staff access only. DDC staff oversee access to the space for contingent workers and non-DDC staff. All DDC staff are responsible for the security of DDC spaces and collections. Below are guidelines for reading room staff:

• The staff door at 14N-120 is for staff use and deliveries when the reading room is open. Only DDC staff should be buzzed-in; all others should be greeted by staff at the door.
• The blinds on the reading room (14N-118) door and sidelight are opened during reading room hours; at other times, staff should adjust the blinds to see out before admitting visitors.
• The card reader at the reading room (14N-118) door only allows access to approved staff; expect others to try to open the door with their MIT ID.
• At the desk, maintain sightlines of all tables (tables 1 and 4 are sometimes difficult to see fully). Avoid seating individuals using DDC Materials (i.e., anyone not using the digital media transfer kits) at table 4 due to its proximity to the door and lockers. 
• Conduct regular visual scans of the room seated and standing at the desk or walking through the room, for example, to re-shelve a reference publication or tidy up a recently used table. 
• Try to reserve table 4 for patrons with disabilities and others who need an accessible research space. The reading room can be difficult to navigate when it is busy and lots of carts are in the aisles. 
• Users who do not have an appointment can not use the reading room for other purposes, such as studying.
  • The reading room is for using DDC materials or media transfer kits; it is not a study space.
• Intervene immediately when a user is not handling materials safely; remind them of the handling guidelines printed on the out card.
• In an emergency, Dial 100 on an MIT telephone. 
• If the building is being evacuated, instruct users to leave immediately and then leave with other DDC staff. Do not stay to secure materials and spaces: staff safety is more important.
• If a user behaves in a way that makes you feel threatened in any way, immediately call on another staff person.
• A panic button is under the left side of the reference desk, which alerts the MIT Police (tel: 617-253-1212).

Reading Room

• Close the blinds on the reading room door and sidelight.
• Shelve any reference publications and refile subject files. Log use in statistics form.
• Turn off the locker alcove light. (Switch is located next to the Reading Room door.)
• Turn off the Reading Room lights. (Switches are located next to the staff door.)
• Dust tables, as needed.

Maihaugen Gallery

• Close down the gallery at 4pm.
• Cover display cases.
• Lock corridor and reading room doors.
• Turn off the lights.
• Alarm the gallery [14N-130 Exhibit Area]

Aeon Request System

• Make sure all users are signed out of the Distinctive Collections Request System.
• Route all collection items to the correct queues.

Collections Materials

• Make sure all items are behind the grate.
  • Items to be returned to Harvard Depository should be placed on return shelves or stacked on top of HD bins.
  • Items to be returned to ASC should be placed on the large plastic cart.

• This libguide 
• Aeon 
  • Processing function "Item on Hold" 
  • Processing function "Reshelve Item" 
  • Processing function "Check Out" 

• Disarm Reading Room
• Unlock and open grate doors 
• Turn On Lights for Mezzanine and behind the grate (light switch by stairs) and Basement lights (by basement entrance) 
• Unlock and prop open mezzanine door 
• Put new trashbag in trashcan (Skip: No trash bag in break room currently) 

• Remove trash from breakroom (Skip: no trash bag in break room currently)
• Close mezzanine and grate doors 
• Turn off lights for Mezzanine and behind the grate (light switched by stairs) and Basement lights (by basement entrance) 
• Alarm space, if last one out.

In Outlook

LIB: 14N-118 Reading Room Staff
LIB: 14N-118A Conference Room, priority given to remote instruction and reference sessions