DDC Reading Room Policies and Procedures: Retrieving / Requesting Materials

Storage

• Printed theses are stored at Harvard Depository, these are listed in collections NOLN3 or Noncirculating Collection 3.
• Some theses are also available on microfiche, these are located on the back wall of ASC Room C (indicated as NOLN1 or Noncirculating Collection 1).
• Theses dating between 1923 and 1992 are stored together in boxes. 
  • Theses are boxed chronologically, then alphabetically by last name.
  • Some theses in this range may now be stored individually at Harvard Depository -- if they are it will be noted in the Barcode Binders behind the desk.
  • Theses outside of this range are stored individually at Harvard Depository and can be called by the barcode listed in Alma
  • Some theses in the range may also be stored individually. These are noted in the Barcode Binders.

Locating Theses Stored in Boxes

First step is to check the Alma record.

• Check for additional authors—Aeon only captures the first name listed in the record. If there are multiple authors, it will be filed under the author who is first alphabetically, not who is listed first.
• Often BS/SB theses or other shorter theses are bound together. Check the notes section, if it contains the text "MIT copy bound with: ..." it will be filed under the name that is first alphabetically.

Once you have identified the name the thesis is filed under, consult the Barcode Binders.

• The binder includes box barcodes, grouped by year, and then by name range.
• Find the section for the year, then the alphabetic range.
• If the range is marked with Call By Individual Barcode use the barcode listed in the Alma record (in the location information).

Storage

• Rare books may be stored in the ASC or at Harvard Depository.
• Books at Harvard Depository will be listed in collections NOLN3 or Noncirculating Collection 3. These books are often stored aggregated in record cartons.
• Collections stored, or partially stored, at HD include:

  Legacy Vail Pre-1910/Pamphlets Baldwin Eastham

  Gould Kayser Books/Pamphlets William Barton Rogers

• Books in NOLN1 or Noncirculating Collection 1 may be in ASC Room A or D.
  • Books in D are arranged by collection and call number. Some oversize items are stored separately on shelves along the outer walls.
  • Books in A are arranged by call number.
  • Books stored in A include:
    • Books published before xxxx
    • Books published in the US before XXXX

Locating Rare Books

• Look at Alma record for the collection name.
• If stored at HD:
  • Look at MARC record to find the box information. The box number and barcode is listed in the 988 field.
  • Add box and barcode info to the Aeon record so it can be added to the HD order.
• If stored at ASC:
  • Look at the MARC record to find the rare book collection it is in. The collection name is listed in the 993 field.
  • First check Room D, unless it falls into the category of materials stored in A.
    • Locate the rare book collection in Room D, then go by call number. Collection names are listed on the ends of the rows.
    • If catalogued as a folio or oversize, check the perimeter walls.
  • Next check Room A. Room A is sorted by call number only. Folios are stored on the right side of the room.
    • Don't forget to sign in and out of Room A.
    • Search by call number.
    • If it is marked FOLIO or OVERSIZE, they will be located ;on the right side of the room.
    • Access to this space is limited, be sure to ask for assistance if you suspect a book is stored in Room A.
  • Mark the shelf location on the call slip to assist in refiling.

Storage

Archival materials may be stored at Harvard Depository (HD) or at ASC.

Locating Archival Materials

All archival materials should have locations listed in ArchivesSpace.

• Any materials stored at ASC should have Room, Range, Bay, and Shelf numbers.
• Oversize materials are located in the mapcases in Room C. The location will include the drawer number.
• If no location is listed:
  • Check at the Series or Collection level. Sometimes box information is captured at a higher level.
  • Check for all top containers by using the Manage Top Container module in ArchivesSpace and searching for the collection.
  • Check the collection barcode sheets for a box barcode, and try calling barcode from HD.

Teaching collections are located in the Wunsch Laboratory.

The room number is listed in the ArchivesSpace record. Ranges are numbered clockwise from the corridor entrance. Bays left to right, shelves top to bottom.

AKDC

Aga Khan Documentation Center

ASC

Archives Storage Space
Room A, B, C, or D

DIG

Digital Storage

HD

Harvard Depository

LMTED

Rotch Limited Access storage

NOLN1 /
Noncirculating Collection 1

Theses: ASC Room C
Rare Books: ASC Room A or D

NOLN2 /

Noncirculating Collection 2

"Tech Collection" ASC Room C

NOLN3 /

Noncirculating Collection 3

Harvard Depository

Reference Collection

14N-118 Reading Room