DDC Reading Room Policies and Procedures: Home

The first two tabs contain information about desk duties and policies and procedures when welcoming users in the reading room.

Information on how to complete tasks in the Distinctive Collections Request System Client/App can be found on the other tabs. There you will find information on terminology and the types of queues in the Request System and step by step instructions with screenshots of workflows. On the last tab, we have included information on special situations that can arise when working the reference desk.

Below, find information on common questions you may answer while working the reference desk in person or via phone and sources for how to answer.

Logistics

For questions about hours, planning a visit, or requesting an appointment

• Direct users to our website, libraries.mit.edu/distinctive-collections/
• Hours and information on requesting appointments are in "Visit us" section
• Note that appointment requests and materials requests in the Distinctive Collections Request System must be submitted in full at least 6 days in advance (e.g. by Tuesday morning for an appointment the following Monday). 

Reference Questions

Answer quick reference questions on the phone or in person when possible.

• Add transaction information in LibAnswers [ Reference Analytics Form ]

For more involved questions, have user submit their question via Ask DDC form or email distinctive-collections@mit.edu

Genealogy / Questions about People

Research guidance available at the MIT People LibGuide (https://libguides.mit.edu/MITPeople)

• For employment questions, direct user to contact Human Resources, 
  • hr.mit.edu/help/contact
  • vpf.mit.edu/employment-verification
• For verification of attendance, direct user to email Registrar,
  • registrar.mit.edu/contact-us

Following up on Ask DDC Submission

Have they received a response from staff?

• If yes and contacting staff is known:
  • Forward their call to that staff member
• If no:
  • Explain that we attempt to answer questions as they arrive in our queue
  • Note that someone should be in touch them shortly.
  • Message Public Services Manager or other reference staff  to notify them of the call.

Donation Offers

All offers must be submitted via the Donation Offer Form on our website ( libraries.mit.edu/distinctive-collections/donate/ )

• For following up on a submitted offer, email ddc-offers@mit.edu

Notify the DDC Collections Strategist of any communications

MIT Libraries General Collections

Refer users to either:

• Libraries page: libraries.mit.edu, or
• Ask Us libraries.mit.edu/ask/

MIT Museum

At times, we receive questions about materials at the MIT Museum, particularly historic MIT photographs. Photographs and artifacts historically were separated from DDC collections and sent to the museum.

• Refer these users to the Museum's website, mitmuseum.mit.edu (new site is at mitmuseum.org)
  and its reference inquiry form, https://collections.mitmuseum.org/mit-museum-reference-inquiries/
• Alternately, call (617) 253-5927

Dissertations/Theses

For questions about specifications and submitting theses:

• Direct users to the libguide at https://libguides.mit.edu/diss
• Direct questions to thesis-delivery@mit.edu

Imaging  

If a user wants to image a folder they looked at:

• They can select "order a copy" when looking at that specific request in the Request System
  • by default it will create a new request  at the folder level
  • to specify individual items for imaging, items should be indicated with flags located behind the desk

Information regarding file standards, fee schedules, and turn-around: libraries.mit.edu/distinctive-collections/imaging-services/. 

For questions about order status, payment, or download, email distinctive-collections-request@mit.edu. 

Permissions/Copyright

Official policy at libraries.mit.edu/about/policies/copyright-permissions-policy/

• For specific questions, email permissions-lib@mit.edu