Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly Articles
The article databases listed below are excellent resources for locating scholarship. Some just contain descriptions of the articles, whereas others include the full text of each article. You may want to search more than one to be most comprehensive.
The databases below focus on a particular field or discipline:
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Search articles, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations on theatre and performance. Includes some full-text articles and books.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexes hundreds of communication and media journals with full-text for many articles.
Indexes articles, reports, edited works, and other publications in anthropology and related fields.
References to articles in the fields of literature, drama, linguistics, folklore, and cultural studies.
The databases below allow you to search across multiple disciplines:
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database which indexes and abstracts periodicals, peer-reviewed journals, books, and other publications and provides thousands of full-text articles.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually not the most current)
Contains full-text of articles from Humanities and Social Sciences journals (usually just most recent issues)
Free scholarly database. Link to MIT libraries for full text and Web of Science citations.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
The links below will take you to databases that feature newspapers. Many more are listed on the Newspaper Research Guide.
Access to over 2500 US and international news sources including today's issues the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times and more.
Good source for newspaper and magazine articles.
Allows 3 simultaneous user(s). Current editions of hundreds U.S. and international newspapers from scores of countries in dozens of languages in full-color, full-page format. Current three months only.
Other Sources for Scholarly Articles