Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Classical Studies Reference Sources
Classical Studies E-books
Loeb Classical Library [Digital Loeb Classical Library]
Collection of Greek and Latin classical literature. Covers Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; medicine and mathematics. In English, Greek, and Latin. Most also available in print.
The databases listed below contain scholarship from many different disciplines, including Classical Studies. You can also consult our list of databases and other resources by subject. In general:
- Consult Project MUSE for more recent scholarship.
- Consult JSTOR for older articles.
A collection of major journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is roughly from 2000 to the present.
JSTOR Scholarly Journal Archive
A collection of scholarly journals in many fields. Includes deep historical coverage but current years are excluded. Requires MIT Touchstone authentication.
Digging deeper: Other places to look
The links below list research tools by subjects that may be relevant to your assignment. They may prove useful if the other links on this page haven't turned up much, or if you'd like to dive deeper into the research around your subject.
For subjects not listed below, see the complete list of subject guides.
Manage Your References
Any of the these tools listed below can help you organize and cite your references. The Overview at the top of the list explains the strengths and weaknesses for each.
Citing Your Sources
Some of the tools listed in the "Manage Your References" include tools to help you create citations in your papers. For more help in understanding the mechanics behind the citations (and to verify that the tool in question has formatted everything properly), consult the following:
Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy, and Theater Arts Librarian
More ways to get help
If I'm not available to answer your question, please feel free to consult with one of my colleagues:
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.